Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V « < 2 3 4  
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Can you Vector Strike and run/flat out?
Will_S
post May 11 2014, 06:52 PM
Post #61


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,119
Joined: 29-March 12
From: Croydon Vic
Member No.: 12,786



Let it go guys, this is either the biggest troll ever or something that's not worth wasting any more time on.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Prince Raven
post May 11 2014, 06:56 PM
Post #62


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 418
Joined: 10-August 13
From: Adelaide, South Australia
Member No.: 14,744



Allow me to dumb it down as well then.

FMC can fire
therefore it can run

Vector Strike does not prevent FMC from firing
therefore it can run

The only rule that prevents a unit from firing or running if it has already fired is the rule on page 12
Vector Strike overrides the rule on page 12 about firing multiple times
Therefore it can run

I assure you, Will_S, I'm not trolling, I'm trying to explain a simple rules interaction to the only people I have ever encountered to not understand it.

This post has been edited by Prince Raven: May 11 2014, 06:57 PM


--------------------
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!"
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ĆON
post May 11 2014, 07:07 PM
Post #63


Edition Change Skeptic
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 13,208
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Canberra
Member No.: 222



QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 06:56 PM) *

Vector Strike does not prevent FMC from firing
therefore it can run


But it counts as firing a weapon therefore it cant run if it Vector striked that turn.


--------------------

"Hail ĆON - Slayer of the Scrubs"


Full Disclosure - Yes, I really am a scrub :)


WHFB 8.5 Community FaceBook Group

40K Chapter Unapproved FaceBook Group
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Krefey
post May 11 2014, 07:16 PM
Post #64


Phoenix Lord of the Forums
Group Icon

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 15,646
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Babylon 5
Member No.: 98



QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 07:56 PM) *


Vector Strike does not prevent FMC from firing
therefore it can run



A FMC that only has one shooting weapon would be prevented from shooting...what is your take on that situation?


--------------------
The Hobby Transporter is beginning to ship to backers! Keep an eye out for it going live on the Laser Shark Designs website!

www.celestial-lions.net

Laser Shark Designs
Webstore
Offering custom laser cut goods for your gaming needs :)
(I'm just starting out, but would welcome requests / input)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Will_S
post May 11 2014, 07:19 PM
Post #65


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,119
Joined: 29-March 12
From: Croydon Vic
Member No.: 12,786



QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 06:56 PM) *

Vector Strike overrides the rule on page 12 about firing multiple times




No it does not. It just says it can fire at another target. There is nothing there that says it can go flat out or run.

This post has been edited by Will_S: May 11 2014, 07:22 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Prince Raven
post May 11 2014, 07:22 PM
Post #66


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 418
Joined: 10-August 13
From: Adelaide, South Australia
Member No.: 14,744



QUOTE(ĆON @ May 11 2014, 06:37 PM) *

But it counts as firing a weapon therefore it cant run if it Vector striked that turn.


I like how you have absolutely no rules supporting your statement, makes it easy to dismiss.

QUOTE(Krefey @ May 11 2014, 06:46 PM) *

A FMC that only has one shooting weapon would be prevented from shooting...what is your take on that situation?


That's like saying a unit without a shooting attack can't run ever because it's prevented from shooting. The key is whether or not the unit is allowed to fire, not if it is capable of doing so.

QUOTE(Will_S @ May 11 2014, 06:49 PM) *

No it does not. It just says it can fire at another target. There is nothing there that says it can go flat out or run.


Can it fire, yes or no?

This post has been edited by Prince Raven: May 11 2014, 07:23 PM


--------------------
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!"
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Will_S
post May 11 2014, 07:24 PM
Post #67


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,119
Joined: 29-March 12
From: Croydon Vic
Member No.: 12,786



QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 07:22 PM) *

I like how you have absolutely no rules supporting your statement, makes it easy to dismiss.


Are you really not reading this:
P43
A model that made a Vector Strike in its Movement phase counts as
having already fired one weapon in its following Shooting phase.

From what your saying. I can shoot one weapon with an MC but because it can fire two i can choose to run instead of shooting a second weapon?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Prince Raven
post May 11 2014, 07:31 PM
Post #68


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 418
Joined: 10-August 13
From: Adelaide, South Australia
Member No.: 14,744



You may if you also have rule that allows you to fire even though you've already made a shooting attack.

Again the rule states "In their Shooting phase, units may choose to Run instead of firing."

So in order for a unit to not be able to run, it either has a rule that says it can't, or it does not have permission to fire. A Vector Striking FMC is in neither category (unless it's a Nurgle Daemon Prince).


--------------------
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!"
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Krefey
post May 11 2014, 07:31 PM
Post #69


Phoenix Lord of the Forums
Group Icon

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 15,646
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Babylon 5
Member No.: 98



QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 08:22 PM) *

That's like saying a unit without a shooting attack can't run ever because it's prevented from shooting. The key is whether or not the unit is allowed to fire, not if it is capable of doing so.


No it isn't. It's not even close. It's saying that a unit that would normally be allowed to shoot cannot because a rule has limited the number of weapons it can shoot. The unit still has a ranged weapon, so can still shoot in other turns, just not the turn it vector striked.


--------------------
The Hobby Transporter is beginning to ship to backers! Keep an eye out for it going live on the Laser Shark Designs website!

www.celestial-lions.net

Laser Shark Designs
Webstore
Offering custom laser cut goods for your gaming needs :)
(I'm just starting out, but would welcome requests / input)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Will_S
post May 11 2014, 07:36 PM
Post #70


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,119
Joined: 29-March 12
From: Croydon Vic
Member No.: 12,786



QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 07:31 PM) *

Again the rule states "In their Shooting phase, units may choose to Run instead of firing."

So in order for a unit to not be able to run, it either has a rule that says it can't, or it does not have permission to fire. A Vector Striking FMC is in neither category (unless it's a Nurgle Daemon Prince).



No the rule says you can either choose to run or you can choose to shoot. As you have already shot the choice is made for you. Vector strike allows you to shoot at something else. It does not give you permission to choose to run instead.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Prince Raven
post May 11 2014, 07:43 PM
Post #71


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 418
Joined: 10-August 13
From: Adelaide, South Australia
Member No.: 14,744



You know what? I give up, this is like playing chess with a pidgeon. I'm going to leave while I still have enough brain cells to make the decision.

This post has been edited by Prince Raven: May 11 2014, 08:53 PM


--------------------
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!"
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Will_S
post May 11 2014, 07:44 PM
Post #72


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,119
Joined: 29-March 12
From: Croydon Vic
Member No.: 12,786



Like the decision to run instead of shooting right?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Starfire
post May 11 2014, 07:44 PM
Post #73


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 8,636
Joined: 14-April 09
From: Orange
Member No.: 7,286



Raven, I have a Daemon Prince with the Burning Brand of Skalathrax.

I fire the Brand.

Can I now run?


--------------------
QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 07:43 PM) *

You know what? I give up, this is like playing chess with pidgeon. I'm going to leave while I still have enough brain cells to make the decision.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RandomAbuse
post May 11 2014, 07:46 PM
Post #74


Do or do not
Group Icon

Group: Staff
Posts: 3,139
Joined: 3-February 09
Member No.: 6,895



Yeah good one. I mean, its not like its possible you are wrong or anything right? Either way, I think Aeon got the answer to his question, so all good.


--------------------
QUOTE(rogal_dorn @ Dec 3 2013, 10:02 PM) *
You may think this will fix it Dent, but I'll put my faith in Batforik.


QUOTE(Krefey @ Jun 12 2014, 01:41 PM) *

Pick up RandomAbuse.

(man, I should use a different phrase for that)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Will_S
post May 11 2014, 07:48 PM
Post #75


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,119
Joined: 29-March 12
From: Croydon Vic
Member No.: 12,786



QUOTE(RandomAbuse @ May 11 2014, 07:46 PM) *

Yeah good one. I mean, its not like its possible you are wrong or anything right? Either way, I think Aeon got the answer to his question, so all good.


And mostly irrelevant as we get a new rule book soon and we can do this all over again.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Starfire
post May 11 2014, 08:39 PM
Post #76


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 8,636
Joined: 14-April 09
From: Orange
Member No.: 7,286



QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 07:43 PM) *

You know what? I give up, this is like playing chess with pidgeon. I'm going to leave while I still have enough brain cells to make the decision.


And sig'd.

armata_PDT_14.gif


--------------------
QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 07:43 PM) *

You know what? I give up, this is like playing chess with pidgeon. I'm going to leave while I still have enough brain cells to make the decision.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheOriginalHavoc
post May 12 2014, 09:29 AM
Post #77


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,369
Joined: 13-January 09
From: Canberra
Member No.: 6,733



Just Wow...

Like double rainbows level Wow


--------------------
Wut?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThatWallyGuy
post May 12 2014, 09:55 AM
Post #78


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,270
Joined: 1-August 12
Member No.: 13,305



I can't belive this made 4 pages... >_>


--------------------
Only The Insane Can Truly Prosper
Only Those Who Can Prosper Can Truly Judge What Is Sane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dono1979
post May 12 2014, 10:10 AM
Post #79


Resin Whisperer
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 7,651
Joined: 13-June 08
From: Canberra
Member No.: 5,612



Not sure whether this is a massive troll attempt but it is stopping now as obviously someone isnt going to be convinced to change their interpretation of the rule.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

4 Pages V « < 2 3 4
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2017 - 05:16 PM