Printable Version of Topic

Click here to view this topic in its original format

WargamerAU Forums _ Clash of the Titans _ 40k Open 2014

Posted by: Kirby Dec 22 2013, 12:35 PM

Sorry for the delay here guys but the 2014 PlayerPack for the Clash of the Titans 40k open (3++con) is completed.

There have been a lot of things we've needed to wrestle with recently so the quick details:

1850 points, 6 games as per the last two years
Bracketed format with top 16 and bottom 16 players split up
64 players - get in early as we'll be tight for space!
$45 entry fee prior to 8 Feb 2014 (lists due on this date)

And the important stuff:

I'm not changing any in-game rules with FAQs or anything like that - we don't have time to playtest and I'm loathe to do so. If you want to discuss this, http://www.3plusplus.net/2013/12/3con-2014-and-interview-shout-out/.

I hope to see you all there!!!!

http://www.scribd.com/doc/192993168/Clash-of-the-Titans-40k-open-3-2014-Player-s-Pack.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/197575129/Clash-of-the-Titans-2014-Entry-Form

Kirby.

Posted by: Stormlordau Dec 22 2013, 12:42 PM

Awesome Kirby, I knew you'd apply some sense and logic to your event. See you there.

Posted by: ĈON Dec 22 2013, 01:22 PM

Are the clarifications regarding buildings from Stronghold being used? Im guessing no?

Posted by: Angmar Dec 22 2013, 03:12 PM

I hope the updated rules from stronghold will be used?

Posted by: Kirby Dec 22 2013, 03:43 PM

Updated fortification rules listed in Stronghold will be used.

Just not the new fortifications.

Posted by: ĈON Dec 22 2013, 04:25 PM

QUOTE(Kirby @ Dec 22 2013, 04:43 PM) *

Updated fortification rules listed in Stronghold will be used.

Just not the new fortifications.


Is that the building clarifications rules or the updated fortification entries from the BRB with the options for upgrades? Are the Firestorm and Weapon Vengeance Batterys able to be used with the rules included in the box they come in, or will they use the stronghold book and associated upgrades?

Posted by: ru486baby Dec 22 2013, 04:41 PM

So does the new Deamon Prince count as using an ally choice???

Posted by: Kirby Dec 22 2013, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(ĈON @ Dec 22 2013, 05:25 PM) *

Is that the building clarifications rules or the updated fortification entries from the BRB with the options for upgrades? Are the Firestorm and Weapon Vengeance Batterys able to be used with the rules included in the box they come in, or will they use the stronghold book and associated upgrades?


Box they come in.

QUOTE(ru486baby @ Dec 22 2013, 05:41 PM) *

So does the new Deamon Prince count as using an ally choice???


No - HQ choice (sorry this is explained further in the PPack but I didn't put it up in the summary post here).

Posted by: Antz Dec 22 2013, 05:21 PM

Looking forward to this. 3++ has always been fun in past years.


EDIT: Will the new Tyranids dex be allowed?

Posted by: reshy Dec 28 2013, 05:22 PM

May have to travell up tongue.gif

Posted by: Kips Dec 29 2013, 06:34 AM

I'll also make the trip up for this biggrin.gif

Posted by: Kirby Dec 31 2013, 01:35 PM

Yes the new Nids will be allowed.

Travelling is encouraged.

Posted by: Starfire Dec 31 2013, 02:14 PM

I will try to attend as is tradition. And I will no doubt be unable to attend again lol.

Posted by: Kirby Dec 31 2013, 03:41 PM

Must keep with tradition.

Posted by: Angmar Jan 1 2014, 01:26 PM

I'll probably turn up, but I'll also probably just Bitch about how #### 6th ed is the entire weekend.

Posted by: Good ol Shakey Jan 1 2014, 01:56 PM

I will be coming along, just need somewhere to sleep! And someone to travel with to and from the venue... And pick me up from the train station...

Posted by: Angmar Jan 1 2014, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(Good ol Shakey @ Jan 1 2014, 02:56 PM) *

I will be coming along, just need somewhere to sleep! And someone to travel with to and from the venue... And pick me up from the train station...


Payment in sexual favours ?

Posted by: Good ol Shakey Jan 1 2014, 11:08 PM

Is there any other kind?

Posted by: rat of vengence Jan 1 2014, 11:10 PM

I'd like to get back to the 40K's, but if this is going to allow Forgeworld AND not reject filthy lists, I will give it a miss again.

Hope it goes well smile.gif

RoV

Posted by: Kirby Jan 2 2014, 05:46 PM

As some have already noticed, the linked rego form is to the 2013 version. Once CotT provides me with the 2014 form, I'll link everyone so they can start sending in applications.

And weak RoV.

Posted by: rat of vengence Jan 2 2014, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(Kirby @ Jan 2 2014, 06:46 PM) *

And weak RoV.


tongue.gif

Each to their own mate, the combo of FW units and 'bring your hardest' is not my idea of fun.

RoV

Posted by: Angmar Jan 3 2014, 09:58 AM

But forgeworld units are for the most part weaker then just straight tau...

Posted by: MTG Guru Jan 5 2014, 08:50 AM

Couple of questions regarding the Firestorm redoubt:

The quad lascannon emplacements have the sentry rule as well as interceptor and skyfire. So can they fire at incoming reserves as per normal interceptor weapons or only fire in their own turn as per the sentry rule?

Also, how many models can fire out of the front firing point? The rules say as per model, but you look like you could line up about a full squad of space marines there!

Posted by: Kirby Jan 8 2014, 07:01 PM

QUOTE(MTG Guru @ Jan 5 2014, 09:50 AM) *

Couple of questions regarding the Firestorm redoubt:

The quad lascannon emplacements have the sentry rule as well as interceptor and skyfire. So can they fire at incoming reserves as per normal interceptor weapons or only fire in their own turn as per the sentry rule?

Also, how many models can fire out of the front firing point? The rules say as per model, but you look like you could line up about a full squad of space marines there!


Were these answered in the Stronghold book? Can't recall off the top of my head but can someone check; otherwise will develop answers to these.

Posted by: Xera32 Jan 8 2014, 08:14 PM

I know it answered the fire point, by giving it a special rule to allow more models to use the front firing point. Not sure on the sentry rule.

Posted by: gaz1858 Jan 9 2014, 01:52 PM

The rules say 6 models can fire from the enlarged fire points.

They dont have the sentry rule they have these rules below.
Special Rules:
Fully Automated: Emplaced weapons on a Firestorm Redoubt can only fire using the automated fire rule: models occupying a Firestorm Redoubt cannot use the manual fire rule to fire any of its emplaced weapons.
Primary Target: Emplaced weapons on a Firestorm Redoubt that have the Skyfire special rule must fire at the nearest enemy Flyer or Flying Monstrous Creature unit within range and line of sight. If no enemy unit of either of these types is within range or line of sight, that emplaced weapon must instead fire at the nearest enemy unit within range and line of sight.

Also Kirby how does Dark Excommunication work with gifts in this tourney?

Posted by: Scorpion Jan 9 2014, 02:03 PM

Hi people.

Full pack for all games and the entry forms should be online by tonight. My thanks to Kirby for taking the initiative while we've been twiddling our thumbs.

Cheers.

Anthony

Posted by: bj12y3 Jan 9 2014, 04:38 PM

I have a question about the relic mission. If the relic is inside a transport can it be contested by being near the transport?

Thanks

Posted by: Kirby Jan 9 2014, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(Xera32 @ Jan 8 2014, 09:14 PM) *

I know it answered the fire point, by giving it a special rule to allow more models to use the front firing point. Not sure on the sentry rule.


I'll have a look.

QUOTE(bj12y3 @ Jan 9 2014, 05:38 PM) *

I have a question about the relic mission. If the relic is inside a transport can it be contested by being near the transport?

Thanks


Yes.

---

Entry form up guys - http://www.scribd.com/doc/197575129/Clash-of-the-Titans-2014-Entry-Form

Posted by: lords2001 Jan 11 2014, 11:18 PM

I have a question re : fortifications and power field generators from DA codex - does the powerfield apply to owned buildings? It seems to say that player owned buildings work as per transports etc for the building itself.

Posted by: Kirby Jan 14 2014, 04:06 PM

I'm going to say no to power fields affecting occupied buildings.

Posted by: casperionx Jan 14 2014, 09:20 PM

Clarification, do supplements count as separate books?

Posted by: Kirby Jan 15 2014, 11:10 AM

QUOTE(casperionx @ Jan 14 2014, 10:20 PM) *

Clarification, do supplements count as separate books?


Depends how they are used.

If you are using Farsight+Eldar, Farsight counts as one book even though you are using Tau for a lot of the units in Farsight.

If you are using Tau+Farsight, Farsight counts as one book on top of the Tau being used.

Posted by: casperionx Jan 15 2014, 01:49 PM

Cool....thats what I was hoping.

Posted by: casperionx Jan 15 2014, 07:24 PM

Oh, can I run codex Inquisition as the add on to the primary detachment but not run an allied detachment? (ie for example if I run SM as primary but run Inq as the inquisition detachment...as it cant be run as a secondary.

Posted by: Kirby Jan 16 2014, 07:01 PM

Do you mean run SM + Inq?

If so - yes. If you wanted to add another book such as Tau - no; add either Inq or Tau.

Posted by: Wulfen69 Jan 18 2014, 11:46 AM

Hi

How are you ruling the Skyshield? What is the cover save? Is it a level? can you Jaws Models on top of the Skyshield?

Posted by: Kirby Jan 20 2014, 10:38 AM

Same as I ruled for Masters so 3+ fortification save if obscured by the fortification, 4++ invulnerable if on the shield as appropriate, counts as a level and takes 3" difficult terrain movement up and down (bikes/beasts, etc. cannot get up).

Cannot Jaws models on a level you are not.

Posted by: Tbailey304 Jan 21 2014, 09:20 AM

Put my entry form in the mail and deposited the money to the account today for Tom Bailey in the 40k open

Posted by: reshy Jan 28 2014, 06:45 AM

Is stamped fw stuff allowed?

Posted by: Kips Jan 28 2014, 09:05 AM

QUOTE(reshy @ Jan 28 2014, 07:45 AM) *

Is stamped fw stuff allowed?

Yes, Read the players Pack jeeze. tongue.gif

Posted by: Mr Peon Jan 29 2014, 07:18 AM

QUOTE(Kirby @ Jan 20 2014, 11:38 AM) *

Same as I ruled for Masters so 3+ fortification save if obscured by the fortification, 4++ invulnerable if on the shield as appropriate, counts as a level and takes 3" difficult terrain movement up and down (bikes/beasts, etc. cannot get up).

Cannot Jaws models on a level you are not.


Beasts can now get to multi-level ruins since 6th came out, is this a new ruling for them just for the sky shield. Also questions regarding units starting on the shield that cant move off it (tanks, bikes etc) can they be placed there?

Posted by: Greatwolf Glen Jan 29 2014, 07:43 AM

QUOTE(Kips @ Jan 28 2014, 09:05 AM) *

Yes, Read the players Pack jeeze. tongue.gif


Settle down mate. biggrin.gif


Posted by: Mono Jan 29 2014, 02:11 PM

in all missions what are the tertiary missions?

you have listed 3 levels for getting points but only 2 levels for scoring them.

Posted by: Mr Peon Jan 29 2014, 02:16 PM

QUOTE(Mono @ Jan 29 2014, 03:11 PM) *

in all missions what are the tertiary missions?

you have listed 3 levels for getting points but only 2 levels for scoring them.


3rd level is bribery. It's a copy and paste job from last year, with reference to 6th being new. He just did not cut out the 3rd level, but mentioned it will probably be old school VP.

Posted by: Kirby Feb 3 2014, 04:39 PM

QUOTE(Mr Peon @ Jan 29 2014, 08:18 AM) *

Beasts can now get to multi-level ruins since 6th came out, is this a new ruling for them just for the sky shield. Also questions regarding units starting on the shield that cant move off it (tanks, bikes etc) can they be placed there?


Ignore beasts reference then.

Yes they can be placed there to begin the game - same with ruins, etc. but they are not allowed to be moved off.

QUOTE(Mono @ Jan 29 2014, 03:11 PM) *

in all missions what are the tertiary missions?

you have listed 3 levels for getting points but only 2 levels for scoring them.


Ignore all reference to tertiary scoring.

If we come to a third level that will be up to TO discretion (such as play another turn or more likely VP; this only happened once last year though so I don't expect it to happen that often).

Posted by: Kirby Feb 18 2014, 08:23 PM

I am away for the next two days - will respond to all queries then. I will also be reviewing lists in this time and anyone who's list I do not have will get a stern spanking.

Posted by: Good ol Shakey Feb 18 2014, 08:37 PM

QUOTE(Kirby @ Feb 18 2014, 09:23 PM) *

I am away for the next two days - will respond to all queries then. I will also be reviewing lists in this time and anyone who's list I do not have will get a stern spanking.


Dammit, I sent my list in....

Posted by: Starfire Feb 18 2014, 10:13 PM

You should send in another. Or just ask nicely. I've never known Will to refrain from spanking a bearded man.

Posted by: Scorpion Feb 19 2014, 09:57 AM

I didn't realise that's what was meant by "open" 40k....

Posted by: Scorpion Feb 19 2014, 09:57 AM

double post...

Powered by Invision Power Board (http://www.invisionboard.com)
© Invision Power Services (http://www.invisionpower.com)