> Genestealer cult discussion
Krefey
post Oct 4 2016, 09:01 AM
Post #1

Dark & Bored of the Forums
Group Icon

Group: Support: Veteran Merchant
Member No.: 98

So with the codex out now (I haven't picked one up yet), curious as to peoples' thoughts on the codex. What do you like, what do you think is average and what do you hate about the codex people have been waiting on for 20 years?

--------------------
Kickstarter got funded! Missed out? pre-order on backerkit!

www.celestial-lions.net

Laser Shark Designs
Webstore
Offering custom laser cut goods for your gaming needs :)
(I'm just starting out, but would welcome requests / input)
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
morsla
post Oct 4 2016, 10:02 AM
Post #2

Group Icon

Group: Root Admin
Member No.: 3

I really like it.

Purestrains are actually something to worry about now, with an extra attack base, and invulnerable dodge saves.

The Neophytes are my favourite unit (I always liked the Brood Brothers) - able to use the Return to the Shadows / Ambush tricks to redeploy and reinforce numbers, and also able to fit in a solid number of shooting upgrades in each unit.

Acolytes look great. On one hand they hit damn hard for 8 point infantry - I4 S4 rending attacks... on the other hand, defensively they're just expensive Guardsmen. Good balance in terms of glass cannon offense and survivability.

I'm not super keen on the new vehicles (Goliath truck / rockgrinder), but I like being able to take some of the more common Guard vehicles.

They don't have the orders and tactics available to a Guard army, but have more deployment tricks and some nasty melee units. Looking at the models I have available, it looks like a much more interesting way of using them in a game smile.gif

--------------------
My Admin voice is red.

[40k|Burn the Witch!|Alpha Legion|Harlequins|Inaryss Eldar]|Deathwatch] [Epic|Iyanden]