Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Geelong Heresy 2015 FAQ thread, For all those tricky questions
Swarmlord
post Aug 27 2015, 03:58 PM
Post #1


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 147
Joined: 13-October 11
Member No.: 12,009



Greeting fellow Heretics!

You are welcome to email geelongheresy@outlook.com or post here any questions you have regarding the rules for GH15. These rules may be amended if they contradict any official FAQ releases from GW, however until then these are determined by the TO team as the most reasonable interpretation of any ambiguous rules.

QUOTE(Turbo_mmx @ Aug 28 2015, 04:14 PM) *

Is it legal to run 2x combined arms detachments in order to take 2x lords of war for this event?

A: Yes, as long as the combined Super Heavy/Gargantuan/LoW cost does not exceed 1000 points!

QUOTE(jimjimjimmyjim @ Aug 28 2015, 04:22 PM) *

Does a model equipped with harlequins kiss, or harlequin embrace need only be equipped with these weapons the receive their benefits or do they have to actually be using them?

A: The models only need to be equipped with the weapons as per the wording. "A model equipped...".

QUOTE(jimjimjimmyjim @ Sep 4 2015, 06:52 PM) *

are we able to use the chaos formations found in IA:2013 book even tho all the chaos options in the book have been reprinted in the IA13 book?

everything except the formations I mean.

A: We would prefer latest publications to be used, I'll check with the other TO's if the only things missing are the formations. (Best case you can use the formations, but most likely the older models' rules).

QUOTE(D4rKn3sS @ Sep 5 2015, 01:18 AM) *

If you're running by the Imperial Armour rules, I suppose that means the Daemon Lords from IA:13 are not able to be used, is that correct? Given that it states they can only make up 25% of the army's total point value.

A: Yes, we're allowing Daemon Lords even though they will exceed the 25% allowance, including the usual SH/GC/LoW points allowance.

QUOTE(jimjimjimmyjim @ Sep 6 2015, 01:14 AM) *

I have 2 more questions.

1- if I take a great unclean one and 2 CAD do all daemon princes I choose in both CADs count as being heavy choices or are they limited to just the CAD that they GUO is purchased for?

2- is the wraithseer considered to be able to purchase a wraith cannon or a d-cannon? FW staff have claimed its supposed to be a d-cannon but are yet to officially say so in an FAQ (atleast that I'm aware of)


A1: Just limited to the CAD the GUO was purchased for.
A2: Yes, I've emailed FW and they have confirmed this.

QUOTE(GuardsmanLowe @ Sep 6 2015, 02:46 AM) *

my question is in regards to wysiswyg

I have a valk that has been assembled & painted with the missiles on it however I want to run it with the rocket pods.

is this okay or does it have to have the rockets?

Also what is the deal on proxies?

A: As long as there is no to little possibility of confusion of the proxy, (ie: 2 valks with missiles but only 1 with rockets), and you be a great sport and let you opponent know at least in the beginning of the game, then play on! (This applies for all proxies, if unsure, email us, or ask here!)

QUOTE(dragonhost20 @ Sep 20 2015, 04:52 PM) *

Will the new Tau FW model & rules "KX139 TA'UNAR SUPREMACY ARMOUR" be allowed at Heresy. The rules are available on the Forgeworld but it is not Stamped Approved neother is it Experimental.


A: As much as it pains me to say. Yes, we'll allow it.


QUOTE(D4rKn3sS @ Sep 20 2015, 05:29 PM) *

As above in relation to the Kytan as well, since it does say Experimental but I don't know if that means much anymore.


A: Experimental rules are just that, experimental. We can't allow it. But I'll ask.


QUOTE(dragonhost20 @ Sep 22 2015, 11:19 PM) *

Can you clarify how many shooting weapons a Gargantuan Creature may use?

Under the Gargantuan Creature rules it states" Gargantuan Creatures are Monstrous Creatures that that have the additional rules and exceptions given below"...

... SHOOTING
When a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature makes a shooting attack, it may fire each of its weapons"


A: As BRB states, "... it may fire each of its weapons at a different target...", so yes. All of it's guns.


QUOTE(jimjimjimmyjim @ Oct 1 2015, 01:55 AM) *

hi. so a lot of people seem to be telling me that the warp hunters weapon profile has been changed to:

36" sD ap2 heavy 3, blast, d-scythe
or
template sD ap2 heavy 1, d-sythe

the main reason for this is there is no longer the distort rule from the 6th edition elder codex.

so question ofcourse is, will you allow this new ruling for its weapon to take precedence over the old profile. due to there no longer being any rules for the warphunter?

these rules are from forgeworld and have said that these will be provided in the reprint of the ia11 2nd edition book, which is due out soonish (I believe its official release date is after the cut-off date for list submission)


A: In the interests of letting people play with it, count it as sD, with -1 on the D chart. (It can never roll a 6, but still counts as str 10 etc for ID).


This post has been edited by Swarmlord: Oct 5 2015, 11:45 AM


--------------------
nomonomonmo biomass
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Turbo_mmx
post Aug 28 2015, 04:14 PM
Post #2


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,866
Joined: 20-November 04
From: Ballarat, Vic
Member No.: 285



First fairly simple question smile.gif

Is it legal to run 2x combined arms detachments in order to take 2x lords of war for this event?


--------------------
I Power game..... WITH KROOT!!!
Titanhammer 2008 - 9th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers Auxiliary Corps
Arcanacon 2009 - 96th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers!
Galaxy in Flames 2009 - 9th!!!! With the with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers!
Terracon 2009 - 54th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers
Eastcon 2009 - 26th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers Auxiliary Corps + 3rd best Theme
Gen-Con 40k 2009 - 8th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers
Geelong Heresy 2009 - 8th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers
Arcanacon 2010 - 134th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers Auxiliary Corps + Best Tau army!
Terracon 2010 - 17th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers Auxiliary Corps + Best Tau army!

Co-Founder the Order of "The Rock"..........One 1.... LIAR!!!!!!
Kroot Codex Version 5.86
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jimjimjimmyjim
post Aug 28 2015, 04:22 PM
Post #3


Member
*

Group: Banned
Posts: 8,953
Joined: 13-April 11
Member No.: 11,099



does a model equipped with harlequins kiss, or harlequin embrace need only be equipped with these weapons the receive their benefits or do they have to actually be using them?


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Swarmlord
post Aug 28 2015, 05:09 PM
Post #4


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 147
Joined: 13-October 11
Member No.: 12,009



QUOTE(Turbo_mmx @ Aug 28 2015, 04:14 PM) *

First fairly simple question smile.gif

Is it legal to run 2x combined arms detachments in order to take 2x lords of war for this event?


Sure is, as long as the combined super heavy/gargantuan/LoW points is no more than 1000 points!


QUOTE(jimjimjimmyjim @ Aug 28 2015, 04:22 PM) *

does a model equipped with harlequins kiss, or harlequin embrace need only be equipped with these weapons the receive their benefits or do they have to actually be using them?


Edit: Found a copy of the Harlequin codex, a model with the Harlequin's embrace does only need to be equipped with it for the D3 HoW hits.

Similarly with the Harlequin's kiss, one of all of its close combat attacks is substituted and does not need to be used in the Close Combat.

This post has been edited by Swarmlord: Sep 16 2015, 11:10 PM


--------------------
nomonomonmo biomass
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jimjimjimmyjim
post Aug 28 2015, 10:38 PM
Post #5


Member
*

Group: Banned
Posts: 8,953
Joined: 13-April 11
Member No.: 11,099



QUOTE(Swarmlord @ Aug 28 2015, 05:09 PM) *

If they are melee weapons, then yes they must be using them in the combat to receive the bonuses.

does this include the khorne sword from daemonkin as well?


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Swarmlord
post Aug 31 2015, 06:40 PM
Post #6


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 147
Joined: 13-October 11
Member No.: 12,009



Not ignoring this question, just sourcing a copy of the 'dex, before answering.


--------------------
nomonomonmo biomass
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jimjimjimmyjim
post Aug 31 2015, 07:22 PM
Post #7


Member
*

Group: Banned
Posts: 8,953
Joined: 13-April 11
Member No.: 11,099



Its cool

Its cool

The ozFAQ just ruled that you have to be using these weapons for them to work with their abilities, which seems counter intuitive to me considering the wording


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jimjimjimmyjim
post Sep 4 2015, 06:52 PM
Post #8


Member
*

Group: Banned
Posts: 8,953
Joined: 13-April 11
Member No.: 11,099



are we able to use the chaos formations found in IA:2013 book even tho all the chaos options in the book have been reprinted in the IA13 book?

everything except the formations I mean.

This post has been edited by jimjimjimmyjim: Sep 5 2015, 05:15 AM


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
D4rKn3sS
post Sep 5 2015, 01:18 AM
Post #9


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 437
Joined: 17-May 06
Member No.: 2,798



If you're running by the Imperial Armour rules, I suppose that means the Daemon Lords from IA:13 are not able to be used, is that correct? Given that it states they can only make up 25% of the army's total point value.


--------------------
A child once asked me how I came to be such a cruel and twisted person. I calmly replied that I have the heart of a young boy...in a jar next to his brain.

WITHOUT PIE THERE IS ONLY CHAOS!!!!

People don't realise that Ninjas will inherit the earth. Stupid meek.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jimjimjimmyjim
post Sep 5 2015, 05:14 AM
Post #10


Member
*

Group: Banned
Posts: 8,953
Joined: 13-April 11
Member No.: 11,099



QUOTE(D4rKn3sS @ Sep 5 2015, 01:18 AM) *

If you're running by the Imperial Armour rules, I suppose that means the Daemon Lords from IA:13 are not able to be used, is that correct? Given that it states they can only make up 25% of the army's total point value.

what are you talking about? that's got nothing to do with my question?


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Turbo_mmx
post Sep 5 2015, 12:15 PM
Post #11


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,866
Joined: 20-November 04
From: Ballarat, Vic
Member No.: 285



QUOTE
what are you talking about? that's got nothing to do with my question?


Correct. Because he is asking his own question...


--------------------
I Power game..... WITH KROOT!!!
Titanhammer 2008 - 9th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers Auxiliary Corps
Arcanacon 2009 - 96th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers!
Galaxy in Flames 2009 - 9th!!!! With the with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers!
Terracon 2009 - 54th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers
Eastcon 2009 - 26th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers Auxiliary Corps + 3rd best Theme
Gen-Con 40k 2009 - 8th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers
Geelong Heresy 2009 - 8th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers
Arcanacon 2010 - 134th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers Auxiliary Corps + Best Tau army!
Terracon 2010 - 17th with the Dal'yth Kroot Rangers Auxiliary Corps + Best Tau army!

Co-Founder the Order of "The Rock"..........One 1.... LIAR!!!!!!
Kroot Codex Version 5.86
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jimjimjimmyjim
post Sep 5 2015, 04:46 PM
Post #12


Member
*

Group: Banned
Posts: 8,953
Joined: 13-April 11
Member No.: 11,099



QUOTE(Turbo_mmx @ Sep 5 2015, 12:15 PM) *

Correct. Because he is asking his own question...

ah well my mistake, I guess that's what I get for answering a question so late at night without any sleep...

tho his question answers itself.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jimjimjimmyjim
post Sep 6 2015, 01:14 AM
Post #13


Member
*

Group: Banned
Posts: 8,953
Joined: 13-April 11
Member No.: 11,099



I have 2 more questions.

1- if I take a great unclean one and 2 CAD do all daemon princes I choose in both CADs count as being heavy choices or are they limited to just the CAD that they GUO is purchased for?

2- is the wraithseer considered to be able to purchase a wraith cannon or a d-cannon? FW staff have claimed its supposed to be a d-cannon but are yet to officially say so in an FAQ (atleast that I'm aware of)


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GuardsmanLowe
post Sep 6 2015, 02:46 AM
Post #14


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,159
Joined: 7-June 09
From: Melton South, Victoria
Member No.: 7,612



my question is in regards to wysiswyg

I have a valk that has been assembled & painted with the missiles on it however I want to run it with the rocket pods.

is this okay or does it have to have the rockets?

Also what is the deal on proxies?

This post has been edited by GuardsmanLowe: Sep 10 2015, 03:00 AM


--------------------
After games in Melton area - PM me
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Paddlepop Lion
post Sep 6 2015, 12:30 PM
Post #15


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,848
Joined: 19-August 10
Member No.: 9,971



why not using the Aus FAQ?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jimjimjimmyjim
post Sep 6 2015, 04:41 PM
Post #16


Member
*

Group: Banned
Posts: 8,953
Joined: 13-April 11
Member No.: 11,099



QUOTE(Paddlepop Lion @ Sep 6 2015, 12:30 PM) *

why not using the Aus FAQ?

they never have before.

but also I think they simply disagree on a lot of the rulings of the ozFAQ


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JBrehaut
post Sep 14 2015, 02:12 PM
Post #17


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 18-February 12
Member No.: 12,619



QUOTE(jimjimjimmyjim @ Sep 6 2015, 01:14 AM) *

I have 2 more questions.

1- if I take a great unclean one and 2 CAD do all daemon princes I choose in both CADs count as being heavy choices or are they limited to just the CAD that they GUO is purchased for?



My understanding is that this affects only the CAD the GUO is purchased for, but confirmation from the GH team would be good smile.gif


--------------------
QUOTE(jimjimjimmyjim @ Mar 18 2015, 11:42 AM) *

Wow jarrod you are a special kind of person


D.O.G club
Running 1st and 3rd Sunday of each month at Good Games Dandenong
https://www.facebook.com/groups/124695097592111/42947750


Community Comp is alive and kicking. Come visit us over at our Facebook Page


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Swarmlord
post Sep 15 2015, 12:04 PM
Post #18


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 147
Joined: 13-October 11
Member No.: 12,009



Sorry guys, been busy lately, (managed 40.5 hours in 3 days work!).

QUOTE(jimjimjimmyjim @ Sep 4 2015, 06:52 PM) *

are we able to use the chaos formations found in IA:2013 book even tho all the chaos options in the book have been reprinted in the IA13 book?

everything except the formations I mean.


We would prefer latest publications to be used, I'll check with the other TO's if the only things missing are the formations. (Best case you can use the formations, but most likely the older models' rules).

QUOTE(D4rKn3sS @ Sep 5 2015, 01:18 AM) *

If you're running by the Imperial Armour rules, I suppose that means the Daemon Lords from IA:13 are not able to be used, is that correct? Given that it states they can only make up 25% of the army's total point value.


Sure, bring 'em along, as long as you don't exceed the SH/GC/LoW allowance.

QUOTE(jimjimjimmyjim @ Sep 6 2015, 01:14 AM) *

I have 2 more questions.

1- if I take a great unclean one and 2 CAD do all daemon princes I choose in both CADs count as being heavy choices or are they limited to just the CAD that they GUO is purchased for?

2- is the wraithseer considered to be able to purchase a wraith cannon or a d-cannon? FW staff have claimed its supposed to be a d-cannon but are yet to officially say so in an FAQ (atleast that I'm aware of)


A1: Just limited to the CAD the GUO was purchased for.
A2: Yes, I've emailed FW and they have confirmed this.

QUOTE(GuardsmanLowe @ Sep 6 2015, 02:46 AM) *

my question is in regards to wysiswyg

I have a valk that has been assembled & painted with the missiles on it however I want to run it with the rocket pods.

is this okay or does it have to have the rockets?

Also what is the deal on proxies?


As long as there is no to little possibility of confusion of the proxy, (ie: 2 valks with missiles but only 1 with rockets), and you be a great sport and let you opponent know at least in the beginning of the game, then play on!

This post has been edited by Swarmlord: Sep 15 2015, 12:44 PM


--------------------
nomonomonmo biomass
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jimjimjimmyjim
post Sep 18 2015, 02:11 PM
Post #19


Member
*

Group: Banned
Posts: 8,953
Joined: 13-April 11
Member No.: 11,099



is the iyanden codex still able to be used for elder?


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dragonhost20
post Sep 20 2015, 03:52 PM
Post #20


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 681
Joined: 5-September 10
Member No.: 10,058



Will the new Tau FW model & rules "KX139 TA'UNAR SUPREMACY ARMOUR" be allowed at Heresy. The rules are available on the Forgeworld but it is not Stamped Approved neother is it Experimental.


--------------------
Melbourne WARGAMING Facebook Group ... FOR Melbourne Wargamers
Facebook : Melbourne Warhammer
(building links within the Melbourne Wargaming community,
we welcome for you to join)
+
"Message" me on FB and I'll "FRIEND" request you -> add you to the
Melbourne Wargaming FB group
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 4th April 2020 - 03:50 PM