Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> space marine scout question
dvaston
post May 4 2018, 02:33 PM
Post #1


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,375
Joined: 5-March 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 5,183



Hi guys,
have been out of 40k for a little while, just trying to get back into 40k 8th edition now. I don't have a copy of the full rules or any codexes / indexes etc, just the free core rules primer PDF and some various googling.

How many attacks does a space marine scout get in close combat now, assuming he is armed with bolt pistol and combat blade?

In the old rules it was 2 attacks (1 base and +1 for having 2 close combat weapons)

From what I understand pistols can be fired in the shooting phase even if they are engaged / within 1" of enemy models. Does that mean they don't have any other effect in close combat?

But does he get a +1 attack for having the 2 weapons or something?

Or does the combat blade automatically give 2 attacks?
I read somewhere that chainswords give +1 attack, does that apply to combat blades as well?

I am just trying to figure out if you get any bonus for having the 2 weapons.

Thanks in advance.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies(1 - 4)
Tom
post May 4 2018, 02:40 PM
Post #2


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,134
Joined: 21-November 06
From: Eltham
Member No.: 3,405



QUOTE
How many attacks does a space marine scout get in close combat now, assuming he is armed with bolt pistol and combat blade?

Two. They have one attack base, and the Combat Knife says "Each tiem the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon"

QUOTE
From what I understand pistols can be fired in the shooting phase even if they are engaged / within 1" of enemy models. Does that mean they don't have any other effect in close combat?

Correct. Pistols can be fired in the shooting phase even if you're in close combat, but only at models within 1". They don't do anything in the Fight phase.

QUOTE
I am just trying to figure out if you get any bonus for having the 2 weapons.

Having two weapons no longer does anything in-and-of-itself, but in this case the Combat Knife gives an additional attack in close combat (Chainswords do the same thing)

This post has been edited by Tom: May 4 2018, 02:40 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dvaston
post May 4 2018, 10:35 PM
Post #3


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,375
Joined: 5-March 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 5,183



Thanks smile.gif


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Blackhearts Reaver
post May 5 2018, 02:36 PM
Post #4


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 10,917
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Laidley, QLD
Member No.: 446



Yes 2 attacks.

Most of the +1 attack comes from a single weapon now (not from a 2 weapon combination). Usually Chainsword/ Boneswords/ Combat knife etc.

You have to be a bit careful if you have 2 different weapon typess for h2h.

If you have a commander with a Powerfist and a chainsword you can split your attacks and use both but the +1 attack would only apply to the Chainsword attacks.

Eg if your commander has charged in to a multi-melee scrum with multiple enemies (eg he's going in to bail out a tactical squad on an objective vs say a Mek (Character) + some leftover boyz. He has 4 attacks on his profile. we wants to put 2 powerfist attacks into the Mek (to kill him) and 2 of his leftover attack into the boys o kill a few more off... he would get :
2 Powerfist attacks (2+ to hit (commander skill +reroll 1's), 2+ wd (str8 vs T4) -3 for 1d3 damage) vs the Mek
2 (+1)=3 chainsword attacks (2+to hit reroll1's, 4+wds str4 vs t4, AP0, for 1 damage) vs the boyz.....


you can no longer say I have a PF+chainsword and get 5 attacks with my powerfist.


Pistols can still shoot when involved in FIGHT phase (within 1" of enemies) but this is still resolved in the SHOOTING phase. Another thing to note is in the shooting phase a model can shoot all the guns it has OR all the pistols it has not both unless the Weapon rules specificall state it can fire both. There are no PISTOLS I can think of with special rules. There are a few specialist weapons like Tyranid spine banks/fleshhooks etc

Pistols in the SHOOTING phase is important in the CHARGER's first then I GO, YOU GO format of the FIGHT PHASE. PISTOLS are good for numerous but cheap chaff units to increase damage before they get chewed up again. It also makes having a plasma pistol (cheap 7 pts) and nice little add to a commander. (just don't overcharge it >> ever)

A scout armed with BP+CCW once stuck in combat will be getting 5x str4 attacks per GAME turn.
( 2x2)=4 total h2h attacks players FIGHT PHASE's + 1 pistol attack in his own SHOOTING phase.
In previous editions you would only be getting 4 attacks (2 from each Players FIGHT PHASE) only.

ASIDE note:
The PISTOL rule EITHER/OR thing is a biggy.... If you can get a model to have 2 SHOOTING weapons (assault, rapidfire, heavy) you can SHOOT both them eg a vet sgt on a bike
-can fire his Bikes twin bolters+ his bolter (or Combi-weapon wink.gif and go check out the new combi weapon rules smile.gif no longer 1 shot only >> but are more expensive)...
-can't fire his twin bolters+ PISTOL (because the pistol rules specifically forbids it).....

This post has been edited by Blackhearts Reaver: May 5 2018, 03:08 PM


--------------------
Run local tourneys, Make terrain. 75,000+ pts...Play 1-3 games a week...(40K,BFG,BB,FoW).
Good Trader +149 .....QLD Masters: 1st/14(Tau), 1st/12(Daemons), 4th/15(Daemons), 1st/16(Orks), 2nd/15? (IG), 6th/22(Eldar).
AUS ranking=briefly No.1. :) ATC2011=QLD team ChampionsATC2012=QLD 5th
Retired from Competitive play sometime early? 2013

Try to be positive and help... not negative and tear things down.

"I passionately believe that's it's not just what you say that counts, it's also how you say it - that the success of your argument critically depends on your manner of presenting it." Alain de Botton
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dvaston
post May 11 2018, 01:50 PM
Post #5


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,375
Joined: 5-March 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 5,183



Thanks BHR.
Still getting my head around the nuances of new rules.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
3 User(s) are reading this topic (3 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd May 2018 - 02:39 AM