Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Drop pod assault, Can a unit disembark and advance to fire assault weapons
fofjunior
post Jun 26 2017, 07:20 AM
Post #1


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,523
Joined: 21-May 10
From: Brisbane, Queensland
Member No.: 9,506



So is this possible?

I've read the rules for drop pods which says that at the end of your movement phase the drop pod arrives, place anywhere on the board that is more than 9" away from enemy models, the unit then disembarks and sets up more than 9 " away from enemy models.

I've then looked at the advance rules which say you declare the unit is advancing during the movement phase so roll a dice and add it to the move characteristic.

Assault weapons can still be fired if a unit advanced.

So this is where I'm not sure it all interacts.

Any thoughts?


--------------------
Quote of wisdom - Semper Fidelis

40K goals for 2017 - play socially more often, complete armies on parade project with son.

Life goals - Lose 15kgs, improve health, spend more quality time with my wife, children and grandchildren. Catch up with friends.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rice Array
post Jun 26 2017, 08:24 AM
Post #2


snookums
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 9,760
Joined: 3-May 12
From: 𝕋ℍ𝔼 𝕀ℕ𝕋𝔼ℝℕ𝔼𝕋
Member No.: 12,942



You deploy the drop pods at the end of the movement phase, as in, after your movement phase is otherwise over, as in, you don't get to move the mans after deploying them. I guess maybe you could declare that the space marines are Advancing, but since they don't get to move I'm not sure why you would.

I don't see what assault weapons have to do with it?

edit: Ohhhhh. You want to do drop pod flamer assault or melta funtimes. Yeah, that's just straight up unpossible hey.

I hadn't thought about that. Makes me wish they'd bothered to give heavy flamers a longer range than normal flamers.

Oh well.

But yeah, Advancing is a bonus to your movement characteristic that applies when you move in the movement phase. It's not like Running in old 40k which happened in the Shooting Phase, so if you don't get to move then you don't get any benefit from Advancing.

This post has been edited by Rice Array: Jun 26 2017, 08:23 AM


--------------------
i wonder if we can get the word 'cuck' swearfiltered
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kingnova3000
post Jun 26 2017, 08:59 AM
Post #3


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 4,220
Joined: 20-November 04
From: Morayfield (North of Brisbane)
Member No.: 324



End of Movement Phase. No more moving. Advancing is moving.


--------------------
"Your self-image is restrained by having to observe the barriers between yourself, and others."

- Of the Voidblazer Legacy -
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gorechilds Protege
post Jun 26 2017, 11:45 AM
Post #4


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,940
Joined: 1-December 09
From: Sydney
Member No.: 8,556



QUOTE(Rice Array @ Jun 26 2017, 08:24 AM) *

You deploy the drop pods at the end of the movement phase, as in, after your movement phase is otherwise over, as in, you don't get to move the mans after deploying them. I guess maybe you could declare that the space marines are Advancing, but since they don't get to move I'm not sure why you would.

I don't see what assault weapons have to do with it?

edit: Ohhhhh. You want to do drop pod flamer assault or melta funtimes. Yeah, that's just straight up unpossible hey.

I hadn't thought about that. Makes me wish they'd bothered to give heavy flamers a longer range than normal flamers.

Oh well.


Pyrovores 10" range ftw!


--------------------
My 'Oldhammer' Tyranids and Rainbow Warriors Blog

QUOTE(Starfire @ Aug 18 2012, 07:22 PM) *

But seriously, I'm amazed by just how little GP has written. On a scale of 1 to Gorechild's Protege, this is nothing. It's like a Heavy Incinerator with which you've just rolled a 1 to wound.


"Don't try to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors, try to be better than yourself." - Faulkner.

QUOTE(Paddlepop Lion @ Mar 21 2012, 10:40 AM) *

All of these things just smash you unforgivingly and theres nothing you can do to stop them. Its completely stupid to take this army the way it is, you will degfinately lose every game no matter how good you are.


Challenge Accepted!

W/L/D = 0/0/1
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fofjunior
post Jun 26 2017, 07:12 PM
Post #5


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,523
Joined: 21-May 10
From: Brisbane, Queensland
Member No.: 9,506



Thanks for the replies everyone biggrin.gif

The answer was in the reinfocements part in a column - missed it on the phone this morning.

So yes it is unpossible to flame from a drop pod as Rice array suggested. No advancing after arriving as reinforcements.

I was also looking at assaulting with Wulfen from drop pods and got a little confused upon reading the disembarking rule from transports.

I wonder how often you would roll a 9" charge even with a reroll sad.gif

This post has been edited by fofjunior: Jun 26 2017, 07:13 PM


--------------------
Quote of wisdom - Semper Fidelis

40K goals for 2017 - play socially more often, complete armies on parade project with son.

Life goals - Lose 15kgs, improve health, spend more quality time with my wife, children and grandchildren. Catch up with friends.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chaplain_Fortis
post Jun 26 2017, 08:28 PM
Post #6


Authority Bared
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 10-January 08
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 4,901



You actually need a 10 or more because you'll be over 9" away.

It's about 32% with reroll, 16.6% without.


--------------------
Existential memes for nihilistic teens
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fuggorf
post Jun 26 2017, 09:00 PM
Post #7


Not the hero Gotham deserves
Group Icon

Group: Staff
Posts: 2,215
Joined: 30-January 07
From: Coburg, Melbourne
Member No.: 3,749



QUOTE
You actually need a 10 or more because you'll be over 9" away.

It's about 32% with reroll, 16.6% without.


Nah 9" is enough, since in 8th ed you only need to get within 1" to succeed a charge, rather than make B2B like in previous editions.


--------------------
Fuggorf's Hit List:

Mitch Wragg

QUOTE
Yeah that's right Ben, I said you were right. ON THE INTERNET ohmy.gif!

My moderator voice is rainbow
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fofjunior
post Jun 26 2017, 09:26 PM
Post #8


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,523
Joined: 21-May 10
From: Brisbane, Queensland
Member No.: 9,506



QUOTE(Chaplain_Fortis @ Jun 26 2017, 08:28 PM) *

You actually need a 10 or more because you'll be over 9" away.

It's about 32% with reroll, 16.6% without.


Awesome so roughly a third of the time. How much difference does only having to roll 9" make to the equation?

QUOTE(Fuggorf @ Jun 26 2017, 09:00 PM) *

Nah 9" is enough, since in 8th ed you only need to get within 1" to succeed a charge, rather than make B2B like in previous editions.


That 1" is gonna be handy biggrin.gif


--------------------
Quote of wisdom - Semper Fidelis

40K goals for 2017 - play socially more often, complete armies on parade project with son.

Life goals - Lose 15kgs, improve health, spend more quality time with my wife, children and grandchildren. Catch up with friends.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
General_Hospital
post Jun 26 2017, 11:59 PM
Post #9


Bedecke deinen Himmel
Group Icon

Group: Support Veteran II
Posts: 2,804
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Sydney
Member No.: 68



QUOTE(fofjunior @ Jun 26 2017, 09:26 PM) *

Awesome so roughly a third of the time. How much difference does only having to roll 9" make to the equation?
That 1" is gonna be handy biggrin.gif


Prob of 9 inches or more is 10/36 (27.7%) on 2d6, with re-roll it's 10/36+(10/36X26/36) (~47%).


--------------------
"The problem with socialism is that eventually you run out of other people's money."

"They move like no thing that has ever been. They move like mechanized doom. ..."

"Darwin famously spent little of his time at Cambridge studying or in lectures, preferring to shoot, ride and collect beetles,"

"I realise the current generation has attempted to hijack the Internet and turn it into one giant birthday party for a five-year-old where we all exchange acronyms while enjoying puns about pirates and ninjas, but this is and always has been a place of business."

"It is as if the socialists were to accuse us of not wanting persons to eat because we do not want the state to raise grain."
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kingnova3000
post Jun 27 2017, 01:34 AM
Post #10


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 4,220
Joined: 20-November 04
From: Morayfield (North of Brisbane)
Member No.: 324



QUOTE(Fuggorf @ Jun 26 2017, 09:00 PM) *

Nah 9" is enough, since in 8th ed you only need to get within 1" to succeed a charge, rather than make B2B like in previous editions.


Nope, you need to roll a 9. You have to be more than 9 inches. 8 inches + 1 inch = 9 inches, deployment requires you to be further than 9 inches away. Loads of people playing this wrong, which is a massive bump in the probability.

This post has been edited by Kingnova3000: Jun 27 2017, 01:35 AM


--------------------
"Your self-image is restrained by having to observe the barriers between yourself, and others."

- Of the Voidblazer Legacy -
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rice Array
post Jun 27 2017, 02:50 AM
Post #11


snookums
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 9,760
Joined: 3-May 12
From: 𝕋ℍ𝔼 𝕀ℕ𝕋𝔼ℝℕ𝔼𝕋
Member No.: 12,942



QUOTE(Fuggorf @ Jun 26 2017, 09:00 PM) *

Nah 9" is enough,


QUOTE(Kingnova3000 @ Jun 27 2017, 01:34 AM) *

Nope, you need to roll a 9

You both agree dude


--------------------
i wonder if we can get the word 'cuck' swearfiltered
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fofjunior
post Jun 27 2017, 02:58 AM
Post #12


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,523
Joined: 21-May 10
From: Brisbane, Queensland
Member No.: 9,506



QUOTE(General_Hospital @ Jun 26 2017, 11:59 PM) *

Prob of 9 inches or more is 10/36 (27.7%) on 2d6, with re-roll it's 10/36+(10/36X26/36) (~47%).

Wow that's a big bump nearly half the time.


--------------------
Quote of wisdom - Semper Fidelis

40K goals for 2017 - play socially more often, complete armies on parade project with son.

Life goals - Lose 15kgs, improve health, spend more quality time with my wife, children and grandchildren. Catch up with friends.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rice Array
post Jun 27 2017, 05:14 AM
Post #13


snookums
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 9,760
Joined: 3-May 12
From: 𝕋ℍ𝔼 𝕀ℕ𝕋𝔼ℝℕ𝔼𝕋
Member No.: 12,942



QUOTE(Chaplain_Fortis @ Jun 26 2017, 08:28 PM) *

You actually need a 10 or more because you'll be over 9" away.

It's about 32% with reroll, 16.6% without.



QUOTE(General_Hospital @ Jun 26 2017, 11:59 PM) *

Prob of 9 inches or more is 10/36 (27.7%) on 2d6, with re-roll it's 10/36+(10/36X26/36) (~47%).

I'd like to add that these calculations are assuming a re-roll of both dice simultaneously (such as from the Avatar's aura ability), if you're using command point re-rolls then you get to re-roll individual dice in any order for 1 CP each, which changes the math significantly in favour of getting more charges at the expense of potentially burning all your CP on the first turn.


--------------------
i wonder if we can get the word 'cuck' swearfiltered
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kingnova3000
post Jun 27 2017, 11:21 AM
Post #14


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 4,220
Joined: 20-November 04
From: Morayfield (North of Brisbane)
Member No.: 324



QUOTE(Rice Array @ Jun 27 2017, 02:50 AM) *

You both agree dude


Apparently I'm going mad. I swear the post said 8 last night.


--------------------
"Your self-image is restrained by having to observe the barriers between yourself, and others."

- Of the Voidblazer Legacy -
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
General_Hospital
post Jun 30 2017, 10:41 AM
Post #15


Bedecke deinen Himmel
Group Icon

Group: Support Veteran II
Posts: 2,804
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Sydney
Member No.: 68



QUOTE(Rice Array @ Jun 27 2017, 05:14 AM) *

I'd like to add that these calculations are assuming a re-roll of both dice simultaneously (such as from the Avatar's aura ability), if you're using command point re-rolls then you get to re-roll individual dice in any order for 1 CP each, which changes the math significantly in favour of getting more charges at the expense of potentially burning all your CP on the first turn.



Yup that's adds another element to the tactic.


--------------------
"The problem with socialism is that eventually you run out of other people's money."

"They move like no thing that has ever been. They move like mechanized doom. ..."

"Darwin famously spent little of his time at Cambridge studying or in lectures, preferring to shoot, ride and collect beetles,"

"I realise the current generation has attempted to hijack the Internet and turn it into one giant birthday party for a five-year-old where we all exchange acronyms while enjoying puns about pirates and ninjas, but this is and always has been a place of business."

"It is as if the socialists were to accuse us of not wanting persons to eat because we do not want the state to raise grain."
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Behemoth
post Jul 4 2017, 11:28 PM
Post #16


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,475
Joined: 20-April 08
From: Group North - Adelaide
Member No.: 5,394



QUOTE(fofjunior @ Jun 26 2017, 08:12 PM) *


I was also looking at assaulting with Wulfen from drop pods and got a little confused upon reading the disembarking rule from transports.



Wulfen aren't allowed in a drop pod anyway now.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zed
post Jul 5 2017, 05:23 AM
Post #17


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 403
Joined: 9-January 05
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 771



QUOTE(Rice Array @ Jun 27 2017, 05:14 AM) *

I'd like to add that these calculations are assuming a re-roll of both dice simultaneously (such as from the Avatar's aura ability), if you're using command point re-rolls then you get to re-roll individual dice in any order for 1 CP each, which changes the math significantly in favour of getting more charges at the expense of potentially burning all your CP on the first turn.

strategic discipline stops you from re-rolling both


--------------------
"From now until the end of the world, we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
- William Shakespeare ("King Henry V")
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rice Array
post Jul 5 2017, 05:25 AM
Post #18


snookums
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 9,760
Joined: 3-May 12
From: 𝕋ℍ𝔼 𝕀ℕ𝕋𝔼ℝℕ𝔼𝕋
Member No.: 12,942



What's strategic discipline?


--------------------
i wonder if we can get the word 'cuck' swearfiltered
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rice Array
post Jul 5 2017, 05:29 AM
Post #19


snookums
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 9,760
Joined: 3-May 12
From: 𝕋ℍ𝔼 𝕀ℕ𝕋𝔼ℝℕ𝔼𝕋
Member No.: 12,942



Oh yes I see it. Can't use the same strategem more than once per phase in a matched game. Well then.


--------------------
i wonder if we can get the word 'cuck' swearfiltered
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zed
post Jul 5 2017, 01:14 PM
Post #20


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 403
Joined: 9-January 05
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 771



QUOTE(Rice Array @ Jul 5 2017, 05:29 AM) *

Oh yes I see it. Can't use the same strategem more than once per phase in a matched game. Well then.

It's not bad that way, it makes you choose more carefully. Mind you with using them pre-battle, each phase during the battle and for the end of game roll, it will be easy to run out.


--------------------
"From now until the end of the world, we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
- William Shakespeare ("King Henry V")
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 12:00 PM