Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Orkfest 40k Q&A
Chevynova
post Sep 30 2012, 05:19 AM
Post #1


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,073
Joined: 17-June 08
Member No.: 5,626



Odd thought - how many kill points does a fortress of redemption give up?

3 points because there are three seperate buildings to kill.
1 point because it's one purchase
0 because it's a fortification

Similar question regarding aegis defense lines. Since it can't be killed completely is it:

1 point for killing the quad-gun or Icarus lascannon
0 points since the whole thing can't be killed



--------------------
Hello, my name is Glenn Blair.


Ashamedly having Force Z results count towards my ranking since 2013
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fester
post Sep 30 2012, 09:24 AM
Post #2


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,271
Joined: 21-August 07
Member No.: 4,406



Can i please get Mission 3 clarified.
"To win a major victory you need to hold both objectives."

There are 6.
I assume that paragraph should be deleted?



User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
YogoZuno
post Oct 1 2012, 10:07 AM
Post #3


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 7,771
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Brisbane
Member No.: 57



QUOTE
Odd thought - how many kill points does a fortress of redemption give up?

3 points because there are three seperate buildings to kill.
1 point because it's one purchase
0 because it's a fortification

I'll do some research, but I believe the answer for all fortifications is 0, since they are not actually models in your army, they are terrain. It would also bring up the question of who gets the kill point if the enemy occupies your fortification and you destroy it, and maybe some other interesting things.

QUOTE
I assume that paragraph should be deleted?

Yup, editing mistake - holdover from the older mission.


--------------------
The Big Weekend 40k 2007/2009
Winter Warfest 2010/2011/2012
Orktoberfest 40k 2009/2010/2011/2012
Two-time Quarter Master Fluff Bunny
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlphaHobbies
post Oct 3 2012, 11:51 AM
Post #4


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 18-June 09
From: www.alphahobbies.com.au/
Member No.: 7,678



I had this one pop up in the aftermath of Force Z...
QUOTE
....it confirms that first blood means a unit and a vehicle is a transport and not considered a unit.

I haven`t stopped to look at the rulebook yet, but there is a suggestion that this is following the precedent of the non contesting vehicles in 6th ed. Big discussion over on Dakka about it http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/469560.page


--------------------
Force Z Jan-17, May-2, Aug-3, Oct-10
The Gauntlett Feb 7/8, May 30/31, Aug 29-30, Nov 14-15
Titans of War Mar 28/29, Sep-19/20
Masters/Scrubcon Nov 28

Australian Warhammer 40k Rankings
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
YogoZuno
post Oct 3 2012, 01:35 PM
Post #5


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 7,771
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Brisbane
Member No.: 57



I haven't looked at the rulebook, but...my immediate response is, don't be silly, of course a dedicated transport is still a unit.

Looking at the first few posts in that thread (which by the way made my eyes bleed...) I believe the rule is being read too literally. I'll have a look myself tonight.


--------------------
The Big Weekend 40k 2007/2009
Winter Warfest 2010/2011/2012
Orktoberfest 40k 2009/2010/2011/2012
Two-time Quarter Master Fluff Bunny
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kevlax
post Oct 6 2012, 06:10 AM
Post #6


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 422
Joined: 2-May 10
Member No.: 9,403



Do we roll once for deployment/ first turn and I addition deploy our fortifications with the rest of our army?


--------------------
"I'm Terra's Reckoning"
--------------------Bane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
westwood
post Oct 7 2012, 10:50 AM
Post #7


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,238
Joined: 15-August 10
From: Brisanyland
Member No.: 9,945



The relic - What are the victory conditions? How is it going to be broken down into major & minor wins?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
YogoZuno
post Oct 7 2012, 09:07 PM
Post #8


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 7,771
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Brisbane
Member No.: 57



QUOTE
how many kill points does a fortress of redemption give up?

Finally got around to confirming this one - Fortifications section on p109 makes it pretty clear Fortifications aren't units - paragraph 2 starts with 'Unlike units, fortifications...' - so, fortifications give up 0 vps when destroyed.

QUOTE
The relic - What are the victory conditions? How is it going to be broken down into major & minor wins?

Err, is this a trick question??

Player pack, p10, says 'As per the rulebook' for The Relic. The rulebook, on p131, tells you you score 3VPs to the player who seized the Relic for the Primary. Secondaries are as normal. p9 of the player pack tells you for a major victory, you need to score twice as many VPs as your opponent, and at least 3 VPs higher.


--------------------
The Big Weekend 40k 2007/2009
Winter Warfest 2010/2011/2012
Orktoberfest 40k 2009/2010/2011/2012
Two-time Quarter Master Fluff Bunny
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
westwood
post Oct 7 2012, 11:18 PM
Post #9


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,238
Joined: 15-August 10
From: Brisanyland
Member No.: 9,945



QUOTE(YogoZuno @ Oct 7 2012, 09:07 PM) *

Finally got around to confirming this one - Fortifications section on p109 makes it pretty clear Fortifications aren't units - paragraph 2 starts with 'Unlike units, fortifications...' - so, fortifications give up 0 vps when destroyed.
Err, is this a trick question??

Player pack, p10, says 'As per the rulebook' for The Relic. The rulebook, on p131, tells you you score 3VPs to the player who seized the Relic for the Primary. Secondaries are as normal. p9 of the player pack tells you for a major victory, you need to score twice as many VPs as your opponent, and at least 3 VPs higher.


No, wasn't a trick question. Does the 3 VP for seizing the relic only apply at the end of the game? Or is it each time it is picked up? This seems like a silly question to me, but it came up in a discussion this weekend, so I thought I should clarify.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fester
post Oct 8 2012, 06:51 AM
Post #10


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,271
Joined: 21-August 07
Member No.: 4,406



You have to be holding it when the game ends, i asked this in another thread :-)
remember too, you can only pick it up in the movement phase so no last turn run :-)


Next question.
Do HS Dedicated Transports count as scoring in Big Guns Never Tire (and same for the FA one)
Relevant page: 109.

When a drop pod lands, everyone gets out.
How far can their disembark be - base-to-base with transport or up to 6"?

This post has been edited by fester: Oct 8 2012, 07:06 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
YogoZuno
post Oct 8 2012, 05:44 PM
Post #11


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 7,771
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Brisbane
Member No.: 57



QUOTE
Do HS Dedicated Transports count as scoring in Big Guns Never Tire (and same for the FA one)
Relevant page: 109.

Absolutely yes, for both.

QUOTE
When a drop pod lands, everyone gets out.
How far can their disembark be - base-to-base with transport or up to 6"?

The normal move is part of the disembark as far as I can see, so yes, 6" from the hatches.


--------------------
The Big Weekend 40k 2007/2009
Winter Warfest 2010/2011/2012
Orktoberfest 40k 2009/2010/2011/2012
Two-time Quarter Master Fluff Bunny
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlphaHobbies
post Oct 8 2012, 08:15 PM
Post #12


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 18-June 09
From: www.alphahobbies.com.au/
Member No.: 7,678



Will the wearing of suits be mandatory?


--------------------
Force Z Jan-17, May-2, Aug-3, Oct-10
The Gauntlett Feb 7/8, May 30/31, Aug 29-30, Nov 14-15
Titans of War Mar 28/29, Sep-19/20
Masters/Scrubcon Nov 28

Australian Warhammer 40k Rankings
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fester
post Oct 8 2012, 09:01 PM
Post #13


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,271
Joined: 21-August 07
Member No.: 4,406



Thanks Yogo, both the answers I wanted/expected.

Adam: No. Pants yes, Tie, no.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
J.McGowan
post Oct 8 2012, 11:14 PM
Post #14


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,687
Joined: 28-September 08
From: Brisbane
Member No.: 6,162



QUOTE(AlphaHobbies @ Oct 8 2012, 08:15 PM) *

Ill be suiting up


--------------------
Sure everyone likes to win, but in the end, the poduim is small and lonely place and you needed everyone else to get there.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fester
post Oct 9 2012, 06:46 AM
Post #15


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,271
Joined: 21-August 07
Member No.: 4,406



I'll be sucking up.

dude needs some sports points.




I would too Josh, but I think im not goin the have space in the car for my suit jacket.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Blackhearts Reaver
post Oct 9 2012, 12:41 PM
Post #16


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 10,984
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Laidley, QLD
Member No.: 446



The Relic:
Move up to 6" in each phase....

-Can bikes and jetbikes carry a Relic another 6" in the shooting phase (turboboosting) because the rule only specifically outlaws Running.?

-Units that are allowed to move in the Assualt phase (Hazard suits/Eldar/ DE jetbikes in various missions) allowed to carry the Relic in that phase? If they roll and get 6"< they keep the relic and if they roll 7"> they move and drop the relic before they move?

-Also if a unit with fleet and an assault move (autarch on jetbike in a scoring unit moving "differntly" but in a squad) reroll any dice to get 6" or less ?

smile.gif

This post has been edited by Blackhearts Reaver: Oct 9 2012, 12:44 PM


--------------------
Run local tourneys, Make terrain. 75,000+ pts...Play 1-3 games a week...(40K,BFG,BB,FoW).
Good Trader +149 .....QLD Masters: 1st/14(Tau), 1st/12(Daemons), 4th/15(Daemons), 1st/16(Orks), 2nd/15? (IG), 6th/22(Eldar).
AUS ranking=briefly No.1. :) ATC2011=QLD team ChampionsATC2012=QLD 5th
Retired from Competitive play sometime early? 2013

Try to be positive and help... not negative and tear things down.

"I passionately believe that's it's not just what you say that counts, it's also how you say it - that the success of your argument critically depends on your manner of presenting it." Alain de Botton
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
YogoZuno
post Oct 9 2012, 06:39 PM
Post #17


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 7,771
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Brisbane
Member No.: 57



I'm going with RAI, and ruling that you cannot turbo boost with the Relic.

However, since you can assault while carrying the relic, I will allow Jet Pack and Jetbike 'not-assault' moves in the assault phase. If you decide to take the move, and roll more than 6", you can choose not to move the full distance to avoid dropping the Relic, but this applies to the whole unit, not just the model carrying it.

For consistency, you drop the Relic at the 6" movement mark, not before or after move.

Also note, if you assault while carrying the Relic, and the assault move is more than 6", or if your charge move plus consolidate for the phase is over 6", you drop the Relic. I'm going to rule that you can choose to assault no further than 6" on your assault move if you like, but this will apply to all models in the unit, and if you still break the 6" distance with a consolidate, you drop the Relic.



--------------------
The Big Weekend 40k 2007/2009
Winter Warfest 2010/2011/2012
Orktoberfest 40k 2009/2010/2011/2012
Two-time Quarter Master Fluff Bunny
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th July 2019 - 02:56 PM