Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Using Deathstorm units
SprayAnPray
post Dec 12 2014, 09:09 AM
Post #1


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 520
Joined: 11-December 12
From: Adelaide
Member No.: 13,772



Hey guys,
I was just wondering how I could use the unit dataslates from the Deathstorm box set, mainly the *troop* Dc and Dc dread.

Do I have to take them in the formation? Or is it possible to take them seperatly?


--------------------
QUOTE(Demon @ May 14 2015, 02:10 PM) *

I tried to buy a predator and all I got was this lousy drone thing that goes beep occassionally
QUOTE(Dice Array @ Aug 12 2015, 05:28 PM) *

It's important that such men police the forums constantly to save us from ourselves.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
difsta
post Dec 12 2014, 09:18 AM
Post #2


The Travelling Mexican
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 4,429
Joined: 29-March 10
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 9,216



I don't have a copy of the book itself, I have only seen snippets. It looks like they are linked to the formation, but it is hard to say. I think you will find there will be an FAQ added once the BA codex officially drops. Much like the interigator chaplain that was in the Dark Vengance box that got added to the DA codex via an FAQ.

That being said, they are likely just a sneak peak of the codex and you will just get to use them as they will be unit entries in the new book.

But I haven't read it closely enough to give a definitive answer, so possibly ignore this post tongue.gif


--------------------
Community Comp is alive and kicking. Come visit us over at our Facebook Page or out Community Comp Forum and get involved

My Modelling Diaries
ETC 2016 Australian Team Discussion
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Æon
post Dec 12 2014, 10:26 AM
Post #3


Edition Change Skeptic
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 13,218
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Canberra
Member No.: 222



QUOTE(SprayAnPray @ Dec 12 2014, 10:09 AM) *

Hey guys,
I was just wondering how I could use the unit dataslates from the Deathstorm box set, mainly the *troop* Dc and Dc dread.

Do I have to take them in the formation? Or is it possible to take them seperatly?


You have to take them in the formation, but you can take other detachments in your army. However formations can not be used to fill other detachment requirements (ie you can't take the death company troop formations to satisfy the two troops requirement in a combined arms detachment.)


--------------------

"Hail ON - Slayer of the Scrubs"


Full Disclosure - Yes, I really am a scrub :)


WHFB 8.5 Community FaceBook Group

40K Chapter Unapproved FaceBook Group
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Æon
post Dec 12 2014, 01:00 PM
Post #4


Edition Change Skeptic
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 13,218
Joined: 19-November 04
From: Canberra
Member No.: 222



QUOTE(SprayAnPray @ Dec 12 2014, 10:09 AM) *

Hey guys,
I was just wondering how I could use the unit dataslates from the Deathstorm box set, mainly the *troop* Dc and Dc dread.

Do I have to take them in the formation? Or is it possible to take them seperatly?


Just had a closer look, the troop DC and DC dread can indeed be taken in a CAD (I thought for some reason you were referring to the formation in the Baal supplement.)

So yes, all Death Company armies are indeed legal without going unbound smile.gif


--------------------

"Hail ON - Slayer of the Scrubs"


Full Disclosure - Yes, I really am a scrub :)


WHFB 8.5 Community FaceBook Group

40K Chapter Unapproved FaceBook Group
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bob sprocket
post Dec 12 2014, 04:38 PM
Post #5


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,172
Joined: 20-November 04
From: Brisbane, southside
Member No.: 300



The DC unit in deathstorm in unique, all of the units are. So yes, I agree you can take them in a normal CAD, but only exactly as they are printed, 5 man DC unit with a stupid number of upgrades (80/85 pts top of my head) and no drop pod for the dread.


--------------------
"In the grim darkness of the 41st millenium... there is always more painting to do."

Nurgle Daemons W: 27 / L: 12 / D: 6
Death Guard W: 0 / L: 1 / D: 1 {Starting again for new codex}
Tzeentch Daemons W: 2 / L: 0 / D: 0 {These seem really fun in 6th ed.}
Blood Angels: The Golden Host W: 3 / L: 1 / D: 1
Cygnar - Trollbloods - Guild - Outcasts
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SprayAnPray
post Dec 12 2014, 04:41 PM
Post #6


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 520
Joined: 11-December 12
From: Adelaide
Member No.: 13,772



QUOTE(bob sprocket @ Dec 12 2014, 05:08 PM) *

The DC unit in deathstorm in unique, all of the units are. So yes, I agree you can take them in a normal CAD, but only exactly as they are printed, 5 man DC unit with a stupid number of upgrades (80/85 pts top of my head) and no drop pod for the dread.

Thats heaps cool then, definitely using them

FA Pod wink.gif


--------------------
QUOTE(Demon @ May 14 2015, 02:10 PM) *

I tried to buy a predator and all I got was this lousy drone thing that goes beep occassionally
QUOTE(Dice Array @ Aug 12 2015, 05:28 PM) *

It's important that such men police the forums constantly to save us from ourselves.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2019 - 08:59 AM