Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wintercon 40k 2015 FAQ Thread
reshy
post May 5 2015, 05:37 PM
Post #21


Member
Group Icon

Group: WargamerAU Sponsor
Posts: 1,644
Joined: 27-January 11
From: Canberra, A.C.T
Member No.: 10,689



QUOTE(Good ol Shakey @ May 5 2015, 05:11 PM) *

Rowan has been pretty full on with work...


But didn't you know Manhammers is more important that work. wink.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Good ol Shakey
post May 5 2015, 06:49 PM
Post #22


shakeshakeshakeyshake
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 5,409
Joined: 23-January 08
From: Bathurst
Member No.: 4,979



And frankly all the previous stuff has near had Rohan want to pull out of running...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThatWallyGuy
post May 5 2015, 07:15 PM
Post #23


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,270
Joined: 1-August 12
Member No.: 13,305



QUOTE(Good ol Shakey @ May 5 2015, 06:49 PM) *

And frankly all the previous stuff has near had Rohan want to pull out of running...



What previous stuff?


--------------------
Only The Insane Can Truly Prosper
Only Those Who Can Prosper Can Truly Judge What Is Sane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Good ol Shakey
post May 5 2015, 07:48 PM
Post #24


shakeshakeshakeyshake
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 5,409
Joined: 23-January 08
From: Bathurst
Member No.: 4,979



Well considering last year you yourself said you were an arse, then you bombard with questions, it came across negative, and the old adage once bitten twice shy seems appropriate. That may not have been your intention, but that was how it felt to him.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Darth Eddie
post May 5 2015, 08:23 PM
Post #25


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,392
Joined: 28-January 10
From: Toowoomba QLD
Member No.: 8,840



QUOTE(Good ol Shakey @ May 5 2015, 07:48 PM) *

Well considering last year you yourself said you were an arse, then you bombard with questions, it came across negative, and the old adage once bitten twice shy seems appropriate. That may not have been your intention, but that was how it felt to him.

armata_PDT_37.gif


--------------------
IF ONE OF MY POSTS UPSETS YOU, GET A TISSUE AND DRY YOUR EYES PRINCESS.


ITS NOT POLITICS, ITS PAINTING.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThatWallyGuy
post May 5 2015, 08:37 PM
Post #26


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,270
Joined: 1-August 12
Member No.: 13,305



I wouldn't really call it bombard...


--------------------
Only The Insane Can Truly Prosper
Only Those Who Can Prosper Can Truly Judge What Is Sane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Good ol Shakey
post May 5 2015, 09:03 PM
Post #27


shakeshakeshakeyshake
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 5,409
Joined: 23-January 08
From: Bathurst
Member No.: 4,979



not gunna keep dragging this thread through the mud...

This post has been edited by Good ol Shakey: May 5 2015, 09:04 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MarineLizard
post May 6 2015, 10:27 AM
Post #28


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 8-March 06
From: Canberra
Member No.: 2,589



The Iyanden supplement is able to be used.

If the Wraithknight must be in a formation or detachment from that book in order for the formation to be valid (i.e, 1+ wraithknights) then the formation will not be allowed. If it's optional, the formation or detachment may be used with the omission of the Wraithknight.

For further clarification on what is / isn't a faction detachment and how it works.

-You may have either a single combined arms detachment or a faction detachment.

A faction detachment is defined as a detachment that is in a codex or supplement, that is not the combined arms detachment.

-Two formations

Formations may come from additional books or supplements, provided the allies matrix in the 7th ed core rulebook permits it.

-Allied detachment

As per the BRB. If a detachment inside a codex or supplement can be fielded as an allied detachment, then you may do so, but this must be explicitly mentioned in the detachment.

(this has been pointed out as wording that does not exist in books, but GW is capable of just about f***ing anything)

This is now the fourth time I have clarified this with the exact same information. I will clean up the player's pack and include this information, but there will be no further discussion.

If you have concerns about your list submission, please PM me or submit your list.

As some people have pointed out, I do have a full-time job and I don't always have all the time to sit down and answer the same question four times. I have even less patience for people who insist on hurrying me.

This post has been edited by MarineLizard: May 6 2015, 10:28 AM


--------------------
DON'T FEED THE IBIS YOU MORON
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThatWallyGuy
post May 6 2015, 10:38 AM
Post #29


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,270
Joined: 1-August 12
Member No.: 13,305



QUOTE(MarineLizard @ May 6 2015, 10:27 AM) *

The Iyanden supplement is able to be used.

If the Wraithknight must be in a formation or detachment from that book in order for the formation to be valid (i.e, 1+ wraithknights) then the formation will not be allowed. If it's optional, the formation or detachment may be used with the omission of the Wraithknight.

For further clarification on what is / isn't a faction detachment and how it works.

-You may have either a single combined arms detachment or a faction detachment.

A faction detachment is defined as a detachment that is in a codex or supplement, that is not the combined arms detachment.

-Two formations

Formations may come from additional books or supplements, provided the allies matrix in the 7th ed core rulebook permits it.

-Allied detachment

As per the BRB. If a detachment inside a codex or supplement can be fielded as an allied detachment, then you may do so, but this must be explicitly mentioned in the detachment.

(this has been pointed out as wording that does not exist in books, but GW is capable of just about f***ing anything)

This is now the fourth time I have clarified this with the exact same information. I will clean up the player's pack and include this information, but there will be no further discussion.

If you have concerns about your list submission, please PM me or submit your list.

As some people have pointed out, I do have a full-time job and I don't always have all the time to sit down and answer the same question four times. I have even less patience for people who insist on hurrying me.


thanks for the answer on the first two questions.

In relation to allied detachment and your reference to 'as per brb' can you provide a page reference.. as I cannot seem to find what you are referring to.

But my understanding atm is

1 detachment (anything but allied)
1 allied detachment
2 formations

Now this isn't ment to be harassment or anything I am just trying to get a full understanding on what my list building restrictions are before I commit to a list concept.. if I was harrasing I would be pming you with silly builds.

This post has been edited by ThatWallyGuy: May 6 2015, 10:58 AM


--------------------
Only The Insane Can Truly Prosper
Only Those Who Can Prosper Can Truly Judge What Is Sane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Starfire
post May 6 2015, 10:53 AM
Post #30


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 8,636
Joined: 14-April 09
From: Orange
Member No.: 7,286



He's saying it's an Allied detachment, and the rules for them can be found in the rulebook.


--------------------
QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 07:43 PM) *

You know what? I give up, this is like playing chess with pidgeon. I'm going to leave while I still have enough brain cells to make the decision.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThatWallyGuy
post May 6 2015, 10:54 AM
Post #31


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,270
Joined: 1-August 12
Member No.: 13,305



QUOTE(Starfire @ May 6 2015, 10:53 AM) *

He's saying it's an Allied detachment, and the rules for them can be found in the rulebook.


Edit: missread

This post has been edited by ThatWallyGuy: May 6 2015, 10:58 AM


--------------------
Only The Insane Can Truly Prosper
Only Those Who Can Prosper Can Truly Judge What Is Sane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Starfire
post May 6 2015, 10:56 AM
Post #32


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 8,636
Joined: 14-April 09
From: Orange
Member No.: 7,286



He even says he'll update the players pack.


--------------------
QUOTE(Prince Raven @ May 11 2014, 07:43 PM) *

You know what? I give up, this is like playing chess with pidgeon. I'm going to leave while I still have enough brain cells to make the decision.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThatWallyGuy
post May 6 2015, 10:57 AM
Post #33


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,270
Joined: 1-August 12
Member No.: 13,305



You are right.. I missed that line


--------------------
Only The Insane Can Truly Prosper
Only Those Who Can Prosper Can Truly Judge What Is Sane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThatWallyGuy
post May 6 2015, 12:47 PM
Post #34


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,270
Joined: 1-August 12
Member No.: 13,305



I will correct a previous statement in which I said there is no detachments that replace allied detachment... there is the Imperial Knights Detachment that uses that wording in their codex.


But I will ask if you are able to use the Assassin Detachment as an allied replacement, on the basis that the knights detachment which is vastly simular can be. otherwise anyone wishing to only use a single assassin is vastly restricted in what they can take for the rest of their list

This post has been edited by ThatWallyGuy: May 6 2015, 12:50 PM


--------------------
Only The Insane Can Truly Prosper
Only Those Who Can Prosper Can Truly Judge What Is Sane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Darth Eddie
post May 6 2015, 05:22 PM
Post #35


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,392
Joined: 28-January 10
From: Toowoomba QLD
Member No.: 8,840



QUOTE(ThatWallyGuy @ May 5 2015, 08:37 PM) *

I wouldn't really call it bombard...

14 posts in less than two full pages, I'd call it bombarding the thread. You put the US Airforce to shame Wally.

This post has been edited by Darth Eddie: May 14 2015, 09:37 AM


--------------------
IF ONE OF MY POSTS UPSETS YOU, GET A TISSUE AND DRY YOUR EYES PRINCESS.


ITS NOT POLITICS, ITS PAINTING.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThatWallyGuy
post May 14 2015, 08:37 AM
Post #36


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,270
Joined: 1-August 12
Member No.: 13,305



Just repeating a question just in case it got missed in the spam.

In the case of Assassin and or Inquisitior detachments can they be taken in the Allied or Formation slot? As this may restrict some people wishing to use either of these greatly


--------------------
Only The Insane Can Truly Prosper
Only Those Who Can Prosper Can Truly Judge What Is Sane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Good ol Shakey
post May 14 2015, 01:04 PM
Post #37


shakeshakeshakeyshake
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 5,409
Joined: 23-January 08
From: Bathurst
Member No.: 4,979



They have the opportunity to use a cad, 2 formations and an ally slot... I think they'll be fine.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThatWallyGuy
post May 14 2015, 01:25 PM
Post #38


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 3,270
Joined: 1-August 12
Member No.: 13,305



QUOTE(Good ol Shakey @ May 14 2015, 01:04 PM) *

They have the opportunity to use a cad, 2 formations and an ally slot... I think they'll be fine.


Well not really if you wanted to play grey knights.. I don't think they had any formations as far as we are aware.. but mate is hoping to be able to use a inquis detachment and take anap assassin..

Assassin's are funny in that a single.assassin is a detachment but taking 1 of each is a formation


--------------------
Only The Insane Can Truly Prosper
Only Those Who Can Prosper Can Truly Judge What Is Sane
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MarineLizard
post May 14 2015, 02:09 PM
Post #39


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 8-March 06
From: Canberra
Member No.: 2,589



If it is not able to be used as an allied detachment , then it is a faction detachment.

As I understand it, the detachment is missing the wording that says it can be used as an allied detachment.


--------------------
DON'T FEED THE IBIS YOU MORON
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kips
post May 14 2015, 02:47 PM
Post #40


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 660
Joined: 18-February 13
Member No.: 14,088



QUOTE(MarineLizard @ May 14 2015, 02:09 PM) *

If it is not able to be used as an allied detachment , then it is a faction detachment.

As I understand it, the detachment is missing the wording that says it can be used as an allied detachment.

Every single detachment can be taken as an allied detachment. The only true allied detachment is the one literally called *allied detachment * and it doesn't have any wording that makes it much more special then anything else. Im not quite sure if even it can be used under your definition of that slot.

see here

I understand what your trying to achieve with your wording above, Its just pointless when you allow two formations. People can still bring multi detachment cheese. You may aswell lift restrictions and say go for it. Half the formations are bigger then detachments anyway, cut out some of the unit taxes and give awesome bonuses.

Force org restrictions either need to be lifted or borrow community comps system. At least it is fair to older codexs without so many formations and still restricts multi detachment/formation spam. Which ultimately, is your intention.

This post has been edited by Kips: May 14 2015, 02:53 PM


--------------------
Check out Slaughterfest
It's ForceZ for ACT/NSW! 5 Games, 750 points, No Comp!

2014... The year of learning to not be a terrible painter >.<
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

5 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th November 2019 - 10:44 PM