Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Starting BA wahat should I get?
Zooly
post Apr 10 2016, 05:10 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 16,267

Hi all.

Keen to start a new gaming system and BA has definitely caught my attention. Keen to start Fallschrimjager army.

My question is what army set should I aim to get to get straight into the fray. Which box sets would be good for a complete noob. I've heard that theres a new rulebook coming out in August.

Cheers for any advice

Zooly
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frullet
post Apr 11 2016, 01:11 PM
Post #2

Group: Veteran Members
Member No.: 9,470

The new rile book you refer to may possibly be the updated version of the German source book. From what I have heard the core rule set has got no changes, other than the erratas posted by Warlord games, coming or announced.

Regarding getting into the game the best way to kick off in my experience is through either the 1000 point or 500 point army box set deals. These are often avalible through hobby stores that sell BA. The alternitive option, if you done mind the wait for transport, is to go directly to the Warlord web site where they often have special army deals where you get a free unit or tank.

As with most wargaming I would first decide what style of play you want (historical, competitive, fun, etc.) and then determine a nation (faction/race). Once you have done this do some research the Internet is bimming with WWII history and this will help you determine what units to pick up. The main thing to remember is that it is a historical game and some players (friendly and at tournaments) strive for close to possible accuracy on the tabletop. I would avoid things like running a Panzer II and Fallschimjager with STG44's (assault rifles) for example as this never happened in the war.