Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tumult 2010 40K Missions, Information and Discussion about the 40K Missions
Mr Peon
post Oct 20 2010, 02:32 PM
Post #21


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,630
Joined: 16-October 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 6,253



QUOTE(Valkyrie @ Oct 20 2010, 03:20 PM) *

LOLwhut?

Someone might need to look up the meaning of decimate.


while it is true that the orignal meaning of the latin word decimate related to "friendly fire" of 10% at the end of the battle for failure in combat.

But the word has changed in meaning over 2000 years (who would have thought) and now is accepted to mean a large loss.

deci·mation n.
Usage Note: Decimate originally referred to the killing of every tenth person, a punishment used in the Roman army for mutinous legions. Today this meaning is commonly extended to include the killing of any large proportion of a group. Sixty-six percent of the Usage Panel accepts this extension in the sentence The Jewish population of Germany was decimated by the war, even though it is common knowledge that the number of Jews killed was much greater than a tenth of the original population. However, when the meaning is further extended to include large-scale destruction other than killing, as in The supply of fresh produce was decimated by the nuclear accident at Chernobyl, only 26 percent of the Panel accepts the usage.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Reunion-Round
post Oct 20 2010, 02:54 PM
Post #22


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 12,917
Joined: 14-January 09
From: Orange NSW - Currently in North Canberra
Member No.: 6,737



Enlightning Prophecy Brother.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr Peon
post Oct 20 2010, 02:59 PM
Post #23


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,630
Joined: 16-October 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 6,253



QUOTE(Valkyrie @ Oct 20 2010, 03:54 PM) *

Enlightning Prophecy Brother.


Does this mean you are bringing your filth marines along and hopeing ill walk off the table again? Still yet to get a win against Chaos Marines. They are my kryptonite.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Reunion-Round
post Oct 20 2010, 03:01 PM
Post #24


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 12,917
Joined: 14-January 09
From: Orange NSW - Currently in North Canberra
Member No.: 6,737



QUOTE(Mr Peon @ Oct 20 2010, 03:59 PM) *

Does this mean you are bringing your filth marines along and hopeing ill walk off the table again? Still yet to get a win against Chaos Marines. They are my kryptonite.

No... they have been sold off... I'm probably bringing necrons. Just wish I had some Wraiths.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Reunion-Round
post Oct 20 2010, 03:03 PM
Post #25


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 12,917
Joined: 14-January 09
From: Orange NSW - Currently in North Canberra
Member No.: 6,737



Actually...

Wayne, would you allow an IA unit? I'm ordering some Tauros for my Elysians and would love a chance to use them, if IG can be at all used for disorder.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr Peon
post Oct 20 2010, 03:07 PM
Post #26


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,630
Joined: 16-October 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 6,253



Just use pipe cleaners with googly eyes on them on one will know the difference.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr Peon
post Oct 20 2010, 03:11 PM
Post #27


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,630
Joined: 16-October 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 6,253



I wonder how many of the marine players are going to take 50% of their devestator squad, combat squadded as thier heavy choice to lose, and how many of these combat squads lost are going to just have dudes with bolters in them.
IPB Image

This post has been edited by Mr Peon: Oct 20 2010, 03:14 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Reunion-Round
post Oct 20 2010, 03:13 PM
Post #28


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 12,917
Joined: 14-January 09
From: Orange NSW - Currently in North Canberra
Member No.: 6,737



On that note... the only HS choice I can give up is my monolith... as I dont have 2 spyders...

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mono
post Oct 20 2010, 05:31 PM
Post #29


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,655
Joined: 5-January 07
Member No.: 3,670



QUOTE(Valkyrie @ Oct 20 2010, 04:13 PM) *

On that note... the only HS choice I can give up is my monolith... as I dont have 2 spyders...



With the number of necron players at Northern Knights you should be able to borrow either heavy destroyers or spyders


--------------------
Fortune Cookie Wisdom: Don't use a hatchet to remove a fly from the forehead of your friend

My Painting Diary or Can I Paint a New Army for Every Tournament This Year, the answer is hell no, but I gave it a good bash
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Reunion-Round
post Oct 20 2010, 06:02 PM
Post #30


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 12,917
Joined: 14-January 09
From: Orange NSW - Currently in North Canberra
Member No.: 6,737



I'd like some wraiths... but meh. I should be okay.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Firefox
post Oct 20 2010, 09:38 PM
Post #31


Member
Group Icon

Group: Support Veteran
Posts: 1,054
Joined: 17-June 05
Member No.: 1,721



QUOTE(Valkyrie @ Oct 20 2010, 04:03 PM) *

Actually...

Wayne, would you allow an IA unit? I'm ordering some Tauros for my Elysians and would love a chance to use them, if IG can be at all used for disorder.


Sorry no IA in this one and disorder are still struggling... I think Mr Peon has been doing a little too much modelling... but those pipe cleaners have some style. armata_PDT_05.gif


--------------------
Founding and Active Member of NSW Northern Knights Wargaming Club

Best Ranking RHQ 40K ranking 20th
Current Ranking RHQ 40K ranking 60th


TO for the Tumult 40K tournament
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AJenko
post Oct 21 2010, 02:25 PM
Post #32


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,336
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Campbelltown
Member No.: 5,206



Questions from before (proberly not answered because they were submitted at the same time as your post):
...
Good Day

Just a few questions:

Mission 3
When will the domination points be added? Is it at the beginning of the turn (giving everyone at least two) or at the end of the turn?

Generic:
In regards to wipe out, would an opponent be required to destroy any of the opponents strongholds and/or defensive/stategic assets?

Abhorrence Missle Launcher:
Does this fire like a normal unit (picking target) or is it like a Deathstrike (picking point)?




--------------------

Founding and Active Member of the former Area 37 Gaming Club
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Devourer
post Oct 21 2010, 03:01 PM
Post #33


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 509
Joined: 20-February 08
Member No.: 5,118



You still have to pick a target using Deathstrike. Nowhere does it say pick a point.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Reunion-Round
post Oct 21 2010, 03:28 PM
Post #34


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 12,917
Joined: 14-January 09
From: Orange NSW - Currently in North Canberra
Member No.: 6,737



Before I made my doomsday army, I aksed GW this exact question (point vs model). I cant find the email anymore (asked it under an old account which is now deleted) but they said due to unclear wording and probable intent, pick a point.

I run it by my opponenets before each game, rarely had a problem with it.

It is also how ive read others use it.

EDIT: spelling.

second edit. Though if a player disagrees, I pick a target model (which is usually the case anyway)

This post has been edited by Valkyrie: Oct 21 2010, 03:39 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Firefox
post Oct 21 2010, 07:16 PM
Post #35


Member
Group Icon

Group: Support Veteran
Posts: 1,054
Joined: 17-June 05
Member No.: 1,721



QUOTE(AJenko @ Oct 21 2010, 03:25 PM) *

Questions from before (proberly not answered because they were submitted at the same time as your post):
...
Good Day

Just a few questions:

Mission 3
When will the domination points be added? Is it at the beginning of the turn (giving everyone at least two) or at the end of the turn?

Generic:
In regards to wipe out, would an opponent be required to destroy any of the opponents strongholds and/or defensive/stategic assets?

Abhorrence Missle Launcher:
Does this fire like a normal unit (picking target) or is it like a Deathstrike (picking point)?


Happy to answer-

Ans Re mission 3 the points are determined at the end of the game turn.

Ans : Wipeout is per normal just their army units as per their list, which why it is a bonus score. Hence for wipeout you can ignore their Strongholds and or defensive assets.

Ans : Same as Deathstrike ie Ordnance Barrage, and with 2D6 scatter and no BS offset select a point on a building or a figure in a unit.

armata_PDT_36.gif


--------------------
Founding and Active Member of NSW Northern Knights Wargaming Club

Best Ranking RHQ 40K ranking 20th
Current Ranking RHQ 40K ranking 60th


TO for the Tumult 40K tournament
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr Peon
post Oct 22 2010, 05:47 AM
Post #36


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,630
Joined: 16-October 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 6,253



good luck with the wedding. But just to confirm the player that goes first has to hold the points at the end of their enemy turn? I would think it might be easier to get your points at the end of their player turn, so that neither player gets an advantage of this.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr Peon
post Oct 23 2010, 08:01 AM
Post #37


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,630
Joined: 16-October 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 6,253



Just was playing mission 3 last night to test things out. I had a tervigon in a building as per your allowance for MC's to be in the house. Anyways it spawned some models. So do they appear in it's building breaking the rule for having more than one unit in a transport or do they appear within 6" of the building, making them awesome, or can they not spawn while in buildings.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AJenko
post Oct 23 2010, 08:39 AM
Post #38


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,336
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Campbelltown
Member No.: 5,206



QUOTE(Mr Peon @ Oct 23 2010, 09:01 AM) *

Just was playing mission 3 last night to test things out. I had a tervigon in a building as per your allowance for MC's to be in the house. Anyways it spawned some models. So do they appear in it's building breaking the rule for having more than one unit in a transport or do they appear within 6" of the building, making them awesome, or can they not spawn while in buildings.


Interesteing point. If anything they would proberly spawn 6" from an entry/exit point.


--------------------

Founding and Active Member of the former Area 37 Gaming Club
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spakka
post Oct 23 2010, 09:18 AM
Post #39


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,701
Joined: 9-August 07
Member No.: 4,363



I guess it would be no difference to using psychic powers or shooting, measure from one of the fire points or access points, place gaunts down within 6".

This post has been edited by Spakka: Oct 23 2010, 09:19 AM


--------------------
Crew Member of Team Pirate Gosford

Making your victories pyrrhic since 2807.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr Peon
post Oct 25 2010, 06:00 AM
Post #40


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,630
Joined: 16-October 08
From: Sydney
Member No.: 6,253



Mission 2.

- Can more than one unit get locked by the wounded solider?
- Can you choose to move away from the objective for any reason ?
- If you are assaulted while attending do you consolidate into the combat or must you remainstationary? At the end of an assault are you allowed to consolidate away from the objective.
- Are you allowed to laugh at the other player if they have a massive gaunt defensive line around all of their other units and a woundered solider scatters over the top of them in the first turn, essentially locking their whole army into a corner?
- If a unit is falling back from cover and at the end of a turn is within 2" of an objective do they rally/become locked?
- If you are attending and are force to fall back do you take the objective with you?
- If you have 2 scoring units next to one objective is that worth 2 points or 1?
- are tank etc also locked by it, just says units I assume vech's are excluded from this.

This post has been edited by Mr Peon: Oct 25 2010, 01:54 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2014 - 11:56 AM