Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sculpting Fire - how to set greenstuff alight (Pics Added)
SteveFirth
post Oct 14 2005, 11:13 AM
Post #1

Group: Veteran Members
Member No.: 133

Hot enough for you?
user posted image

Unfortunately I have no in-progress shots of this, but maybe I can make some more fire on the weekend and take some photos on the way, no please don't make me do it :-D

I am very new to GS sculpting, one GW blister pack and now just starting on my 100g ribbon from Reddwarf. I must say the fresher(?) ribbon is much easier to work with than the GW pack.

I started small on the weapons of my beastmen, but the technique is the same all the way up to the flames on the bloodthirster above. The modeling tool of choice was my 1st year biology dissection kit pointy thing, called a 'point', basically a 2mm thick, pointy ended pin on a handle. It has taken a bit of a beating and broke, now it's either held in my pin vise or my hobby blade holder.

Most things I read about GS say to mix it then let it rest for 15 - 30 min before you use it, don't do that. To get the shape of the fire you want the GS at it's most malleable, so use it right away, fresh GS is even softer and it works better.
Start with a blob of GS, stretch this out across the surface and using the round/butt end of the tool press it onto the surface to get a good grip as you are about to try to pull it back off again.
A note on moistening your tool (sounds vaguely rude), I use spit, easily available, has great surface properties due to all the protein so it coats well. Also we only want the tool to be moistened some of the time, we actually want it to stick later on, so mixing the GS with vaseline or coating tools with vas is no good.