Campaign rules we are using
Campaign rules we are using
Jan 8 2012, 04:18 PM
Group: Veteran Members
Joined: 11-September 09
Member No.: 8,145
1) Each player rolls 1d6. Starting with the highest roller and going to the lowest (reroll any ties), each player places 1 pin in a territory on the edge of the map and no closer than 4 territories away from another starting pin.
PIN <------4 territories------>PIN
This first territory is that players Capital. Mark it as such on the map with an encircled C (see map for key). Rules for Capitals are explained below.
2) In the same order as step 1 above each player places a second pin in a territory adjacent to his Capital. There are no restrictions regarding territories between pins from this stage on (Pins can be placed within 4 territories of opposing players pins).
3) Continue placing pins in this order until all pins have been placed (6 in a 4 player campaign, 5 in a 5 player campaign). These pins must be placed in a territory adjacent to one already claimed by the player in question.
These territories are the players’ starting empires.
These are noted as encircled C’s on the map. A capital automatically has the City status (see below for rules for Cities). If a player loses his Capital and does not control any other City territories then he is eliminated from the campaign. Remove all his pins from the map. These territories are now considered uncontrolled with the exception of the old Capital territory, which is claimed by the battle’s victor. It retains any Reinforcement levels added to it by the old owner but is no longer considered a Capital territory. Remove this status from the map & replace it with a symbol for a City (a pentagram).
If the player who loses his Capital controls 1 or more City territories then he must choose 1 of these as his new Capital. This territory automatically follows all the rules for Capitals as well as those for Cities. Mark it as a Capital on the map.
Note that a Capital can have up to 2 Reinforcement levels on it as opposed to 1 for ordinary Cities and that it retains 2 levels if it gets taken over by another player.
Territory Special Rules
Shrine (map key is encircled dot): a player in control of a Shrine territory can either have the number of Lemures 1 Infernalist can summon increased by 1 or add 1 to their command pool. These effects are cumulative (eg if a player controls 2 Shrine territories then they could either control 2 extra lemures (these extra lemures can be added to 1 Infernalist or be allocated to 2 different Infernalists) OR they could add 2 to their command pool OR choose to add 1 to their command pool and take 1 extra lemure).
The player must declare how they intend on using the Shrines they control in step 4 of the Campaign Turn (see below) & this allocation cannot be adjusted until the next Campaign Turn. This allocation is in place for all battles fought in the current campaign turn.
City (map key is a Pentagram): each City controlled by a player allows him to add an extra 20pts worth of units to his force for 1 battle only. Remember that a Capital territory is also considered to be a City territory for the purposes of these rules. Control of multiple cities does not allow a player to stack this benefit on one battle but does allow him to add an extra 20pts to separate battles he will fight in the current Campaign Turn at a rate of 1 battle per City territory controlled (eg if a player controls 2 City territories then he can add 20 pts to 2 different battles he will fight in this campaign turn). This bonus does not carry over to subsequent turns. A player must declare which battle(s) will benefit from these extra points in step 4 of the Campaign Turn and may not alter this declaration for the remainder of the campaign turn.
A player is able to Reinforce city territories they control (see below for details). A city can have 1 level of Reinforcements. A Capital can have up to 2 levels of Reinforcements. Each level of Reinforcements allows a player to include an extra 20 pts worth of units in their force when the City territory in question is attacked (therefore a fully Reinforced Capital can have an extra 40 pts of units available to it if it is attacked). Note that this defending bonus is only available to cities that have been reinforced and is in addition to the rules for unreinforced Cities above. A captured City territory retains its Reinforcement level & is available to the new owner immediately.
Rivers: rivers can be used to travel across multiple territories. A player can use a river system to travel across as many territories as they choose as long as the river does not cross into the territory of another player. Once a player’s force enters a rival’s territory it must stop immediately & he must place a pin in the territory in question. Obviously the player can stop his force’s movement anywhere along the river and place a pin in any uncontested territory on the river’s path. Note that a player does not gain control of territories moved through, only the one where it ends it movement.
The Campaign Turn
1) Calculate number of territories controlled: this decides how many campaign actions a player has available.
1-4 territories: 1 campaign action
5-9 territories: 2 campaign actions
10-14 territories: 3 campaign actions
15-19 territories: 4 campaign actions
20+ territories: 5 campaign actions
2) Use Campaign Actions: the player that controls the most territories acts first, followed by the player with the next highest number of territories etc. Resolve ties with a dice roll, the winner going before the loser of the roll-off. A player must use all his campaign actions before the next player can act. Each campaign action allows a player to either
a) Reinforce a City territory 1 level. Remember a city can only have 1 level of Reinforcement while a Capital can have 2. Add a pin to a city territory for each level of reinforcement added (1 extra pin for 1 level of reinforcement, 2 for 2 levels).
b) Add a pin to a territory that is adjacent to a territory they control (remember that using a river system allows a pin to be placed anywhere along its route within the restrictions described under Rivers, above). If the territory the pin is placed in is not controlled by another player roll a d6, on a 1-3 the player gains control of the territory, on a 4-6 the player must fight a battle against the regions native inhabitants. These are represented by a force of Lost picked as normal & controlled by the GM or another player of his choice.
A player can place a pin in a territory controlled by another player. In this case the 2 forces will fight a battle in step 5 of the campaign turn. Note that a territory can never have more than 2 forces pins in it. If a territory already has 2 forces pins present then a player cannot place an additional pin in this territory. If 2 players move into an uncontrolled territory they will battle each other, no roll is made to see if the natives must be fought.
A player may not place a pin in a territory they already control unless they are reinforcing it.
3) Random Events: 1 player (or the GM) rolls 1d6. On a result of a 1 roll a d4 & compare the result to the random event table below. The event that is rolled up lasts for 1 campaign turn & then expires.
1 “Lemure, lemure, where art thou”: Infernalists have access to 1 less lemure per battle this campaign turn.
2 “This land is ours”: Natives receive an extra 20 pts in units & 1 extra command in each battle they fight this campaign turn.
3 “Firestorm”: during each battle at the start of each turn roll a d6 for each unit on the battlefield. On a 1 that unit suffers 1 damage point, no PR allowed. These effects cannot be avoided by any means.
4 “Plague of Buboes”: once forces are picked for any battle but before they are deployed roll a d6 for each unit. On a 1 that unit is unavailable for the coming fight & its points value cannot be reallocated to new units. Officers are immune to the effects of this event. A player can permanently spend 1 command point to ignore the effects of each 1 rolled. The spending of command must be decided as soon as a 1 is rolled & you can spend multiple command points in this manner but each one spent is not available in the coming fight.
4) Declare use of Territory abilities: the player that controls the most territories acts first, followed by the player with the next highest number of territories etc. Resolve ties with a dice roll, the winner going before the loser of the roll-off. It is at this stage that players declare how they are going to use their Shrine territories and also which battles will benefit from the extra points provided by City territories. All decisions made at this stage are binding for the remainder of the campaign turn and cannot be changed.
5) Fight Battles: as per the HellDorado rulebook. The winner claims the territory being fought over. If a player wins a Masterful Victory their opponent not only loses the contested territory but also 1 adjacent territory that they control (chosen by the loser of the battle). The winner does not gain control of this extra lost territory, it becomes unoccupied. If there are no adjacent territories for the loser to abandon (in the case of a force that has moved using a river system) then no further actions need be taken by the vanquished party.
If 2 players have multiple battles against each other they have the option of fighting 1 battle with the result deciding the fate of all territories in question. This is optional and is purely to speed up the campaign turn.
Once all battles for the turn have been decided the next Campaign Turn can begin. If players delay fighting their battles the GM can decide to start the next Campaign Turn & the offending players are not able to perform any actions this turn other than to fight the battles that have carried over from the prior turn or battles instigated by other opponents. This means that they don’t have access to the benefits provided by any City or Shrine territories they control. Note also that other players are still able to attack territories controlled by the lazy gits as normal.
Forces are chosen as per the Helldorado rulebook with the following additions:
1) Cities & Shrines provide benefits as stated above.
2) Forces can be different for each battle but a player’s Officer must remain the same throughout the campaign. If, for any reason a player’s Officer is killed, roll a d6 at the end of the battle on a 4-6 they recover from their wounds and there are no further effects. On a 1 or 2 that Officer has suffered serious injuries that require recovery time. The Officer in question becomes unavailable for the rest of this Campaign turn & all of the next one while he recovers. A player that loses his Officer still picks a force but doesn’t have access to Officer units & therefore their command pool is drastically reduced & they have no access to Vae Soli & Vae Victus orders until he is available again.
1) The first player to control at least 17 territories at the end of a Campaign Turn and control at least 5 more territories than any other player is immediately declared victorious.
2) If, at any time, only 1 player is left with a Capital, they are also declared victorious.
3) If, after 20 Campaign Turns, neither of these conditions have been satisfied each player must calculate the number of territories that they control. The player with the most is declared winner. In the case of a tie the player with the most Cities is the winner. If a tie persists the player with the most Shrines will be victorious. If there is still a tie then the forces in question must fight 1 more battle (this is the only time that a multiplayer battle could occur). The winner of this battle will be the winner of the campaign.
|Lo-Fi Version||Time is now: 23rd May 2013 - 04:07 PM|