Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [Terrain] Vissy's: Making Terrain on Budget, And still please the minister of finance!
VisOne
post Nov 21 2012, 03:54 AM
Post #1

Combat Simian

Group: Veteran Members
Member No.: 12,758

VisOnes: How to Make Terrain on Budget - And still please the minister of finance!

Now for those of you who know or have at least seen me around here on WAU this last year or so may know Im a mediocre painter and gamer. Im a bit of a loud mouth and I find my foot works satisfyingly well as a pacifier. However while I might be a bit of a git in most regards I do certainly believe in one thing and that is giving back where I can; so with that in mind here is a little bit of dairy of sorts that will hopefully help motivate some of you to tackle making some terrain of your own.

First of all like so many of us I never work to a plan. Well I do but Im no slave to one; however I always keep one simple thing in mind K.I.S.S that as many of you may know means KEEP IT SIMPLE STUPID! This is important for me as Im no Bugbait, Tommygun or Matakishi. So when I make terrain I stay away from expensive things like using allot of foam core or plastic card. I keep the execution of it simple. Getting aesthetically pleasing terrain made and on the table is important. What its made out of is not important; further more it should always be cost effective. If you want great looking terrain youre better off biting the bullet and purchasing it. God knows there is allot of really great products available these days thanks to CNC laser cutting becoming affordable.

So with that in mind here is a quick little system which I intend on using to rate projects in the future. Rating will be 1 to 5, 1 being the shortest/lowest/least amount and 5 being the longest/highest/greatest amount.

Build Time How long it takes to knock it together ?
Cost How much it costs?
Skill Is it hard to make?